E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:04 pm

with v0.35 (just uploaded) all command stations issues should have been fixed. the only difference is that the command stations use 253 bytes per preset dump chunk (instead of 255), the dump data is identical otherwise.

thank you for your kind words,
enjoy")
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

Advertisement:

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby aredj » Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:12 am

Thanks for your work!
This synth engine really needed a good editor... Yours is the best to date!
Slick and logical.
User avatar
aredj
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Toronto ON
Gear: A little bit of E-muAccessJomoxKorg -
Spectralis2!

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:42 am

v0.37 has been uploaded.
this version fixes the crash bug on channel switching and adds full audity 2000 support.

http://prodatum.sf.net
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:40 pm

v0.41 has been out for some time now. fixes some problems adds some features, thought i'd let you know!

http://prodatum.sf.net

vvd
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby balma » Wed Nov 11, 2009 9:06 pm

Let me put a tip to get the best of the sequencer:

USING 31 TRACKS (plus 15 knob automatization individual tracks) inside a pattern....

For being able to run 31 tracks, no matter the MIDI destination, you must use the MULTI A or MULTI B functions.

You can play the 31 tracks at the same time (watch out for poly, dude) but you won't be able to mute/unmute 16 of them. Mutes for tracks store on Multi A must be recorded as a knob tweak.

Record the 16 tracks that later will be send with the MultiA or MultiB track .

Remember to select for the Multi A or Multi B function, a low number track. They have the highest priority when talking about MIDI flowing.

Suppose you chose TRACK 1 A for this. Copy, one by one, tracks 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 into it.

OVERDUB not REPLACE.

I higly recommend before doing this, a tip to avoid MIDI overflow, having too much notes starting exactly at the same time. Go to the function "note start time" and increase on track 2, 0,001 to all notes. 0,002 to all notes on track 3, 0,003 to all notes on track 4. And go on until track 16. So you'll have tiny differences on the start time of the notes on each one of the tracks

After this, you'll have a big bunch of MIDI sentences in this track. If notes are not too long, or too much clustered exactly on the same point, MIDI flow will be tight and clean.

Go to the MIDI screens of this pattern, and assign that track 1A as MULTI A.

Erase all tracks from 2 to 16.

Now you have all those tracks from 2 to 16, compressed on track 1. You can activate or deactivate them by separated.

If you used MULTI A, tracks now from 2 to 16, must be assigned to tracks 2 B to 16 B. Despite the tracks 2 A to 16 A are now empty, they still holding information about patch selection, pan and volume, that will affect the info inside the track MULTI A

Other tip
Now you have free way to record 15 new tracks after all these operations. And the other tracks that were copied to MULTI A and then erased, can actually HOLD KNOB TWEAKINGS for all the patches inside Multi A!

Despite the tracks on Multi A, are not able to be muted, you have 15 triggers of note tweakings.


Also, if you do need to mute/unmute the tracks individually inside a pattern,you can use this method, and compress all the tracks into a single track.

This is specially useful, when you need to have knob movements in a track, and the note sentences in another one.

you want the track running, without the ControlChange, and then, on the next loop, activate-deactivate the control change.

That's possible and easy on the command station with the MULTI track function, because you'll have 15 empty track triggers that can be used to store the knob tweaks.

IF the knob tweak was recorded on track 2, it will affect the patch assigned to the track 2 that is compressed inside the Multitrack.
"If a human disagrees with you, let him live. In a hundred billion galaxies you won´t find another"
Carl Sagan

https://soundcloud.com/balma
User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2791
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Costa Rica
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:54 pm

prodatum v0.42.1 has been released.
changes from 0.41:

v0.42.1

* fix keyboard not showing layer-keyrange-sliders when disabling "Edit All" while keyboard is shown
* new "Knob job" preference: radial, horizontal or vertical knob editing
* better knob behaviour: clicking a knob does not change its value. instead it's current value is shown in the in/output widget.


v0.42

* updated fltk (1.1.10) and portmidi (207)
* better color theme selection (and new colors)
* fixed a bug that could cause a crash when using "Start over" from the edit menu
* fix: switching "Edit All" no longer disables menu and save items when data has been changed before
* fix: "Edit All" now gets disabled when "Start over" is being used




http://prodatum.sf.net
enjoy.
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vcs3 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:48 pm

Thank you very much.
User avatar
vcs3
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:22 am
Location: Lusitania
Gear: BitOne,DX7II, M-1000, ESQm, Procussion, NanoSynth, VL1, P2500, K5000R, FS1r, JX-3P, Ju-60,HR-16, CZ1000, RX-5,K2600S, Nord G1r, G2, XL-7, Shuthri-1

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby yamaha22 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:29 pm

i just bought a mo'phatt off ebay and it's in the mail. i'm certainly going to use this program but i'm wondering about the midi bit. do i need mophatt midi out into midi in on computer or do i need both midi in AND out connecting the two?
User avatar
yamaha22
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:39 am

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vcs3 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:44 pm

You need both:
the IN to receive data from the computer.
the OUT to send th stored pacth and sequences to the computer.
User avatar
vcs3
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:22 am
Location: Lusitania
Gear: BitOne,DX7II, M-1000, ESQm, Procussion, NanoSynth, VL1, P2500, K5000R, FS1r, JX-3P, Ju-60,HR-16, CZ1000, RX-5,K2600S, Nord G1r, G2, XL-7, Shuthri-1

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby yamaha22 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:54 pm

ok thanks
User avatar
yamaha22
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:39 am

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:34 pm

v0.42.5 has been released! changes: Bugfixes, option to rescan for newly attached MIDI devices, widgets adapt better to color changes, more options to design your own theme, updated FLTK and portmidi libraries, UI improvements

Image
http://prodatum.sf.net
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby Nannerfan » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:34 pm

Sweet... just picked up a PX-7.

Dumb question... can you easily dump sequences out of Cubase into it? Like my friends do with their MPC1000's ??
User avatar
Nannerfan
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:00 pm
Gear: Akai AX-60, AX-80, S612
Arturia Microbrute
Roland D-550, TR-8
Yamaha QY700, SU700, TX81Z

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby balma » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:47 pm

That's possible with the Eloader. If you didn't get the CD with your XL7, you can download it from the internet.

Is pretty far easy to use. The TERRIBLE issue with the Eloader, is that you can save your sequences, but you can't save your patches. That really sucks....
"If a human disagrees with you, let him live. In a hundred billion galaxies you won´t find another"
Carl Sagan

https://soundcloud.com/balma
User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2791
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: Costa Rica
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby Nannerfan » Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:02 am

Thanks! I did get the disc with mine. But I tend to download drivers/software because I'm always worried I won't have the latest one.

Can't wait to dig in. I just wanted a sequencer, and yet this seems like a capable synth! Should I track down some of the ROMS? Or is that not worth the time/money?
User avatar
Nannerfan
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:00 pm
Gear: Akai AX-60, AX-80, S612
Arturia Microbrute
Roland D-550, TR-8
Yamaha QY700, SU700, TX81Z

Re: E-MU Proteus 1000/2000/Command-Station owners...

Postby vvd » Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:07 am

Nannerfan wrote:Sweet... just picked up a PX-7.

Dumb question... can you easily dump sequences out of Cubase into it? Like my friends do with their MPC1000's ??


nope, it's "only" a preset editor for the parameters common to all pXk models. :) but you can edit the arps with it.

btw, v0.42.6 has been released. change: resizable main window (on request by netbook users).
User avatar
vvd
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:37 am
Gear: dde, micron, emu romplers

PreviousNext

Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests