upgrading OB-Xa

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

upgrading OB-Xa

Postby factorplayer » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:07 am

I am looking at getting a 4-voice OB-Xa, what all is involved in upgrading it to 8-voice?

thanks
factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Austin TX
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Band: Amanda Lepre

Advertisement:

Re: upgrading OB-Xa

Postby drawtippy » Fri Aug 12, 2011 3:16 pm

Unfortunately, it's not that easy or affordable. This pic is of my 8 voice. You can see the four voices right there, separated by those white things. Each voice is on one of those cards. Now look closer, you can see the second tray, with the other four voice cards underneath. I don't know if the four voice comes with an "empty tray", but basically you'll have to source and buy four working voice cards. Installing them isn't really complicated after that... so that's the good news!



url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/88093971@N00/3122567137/]Image[/url]
Oberheim OB-Xa Guts by Art Test Music, on Flickr
Visit http://www.arttestmusic.com

Voyager, JP-6, Pro-One, 800DV, CZ-101, VL-1, Micron, Solina, OB-Xa, JX-8P, Sid Station, xoxbox
User avatar
drawtippy
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: NYC
Band: Draw Tippy

Re: upgrading OB-Xa

Postby factorplayer » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:50 pm

Thanks! that is a great pic. I figured it would be something like that since each voice is basically its own card there.
factorplayer
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Austin TX
Real name: Jay
Gear: Korg MS2000
Roland SH-32
Roland Juno-60
Taurus 3!
Band: Amanda Lepre

Re: upgrading OB-Xa

Postby Steve Jones » Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:45 pm

I have spare OBXa cards and trays that I can sell, however they have no Curtis chips, so you would need to source them yourself which would be an expensive exercise, and then they would need calibration.
Image
Synthesizer service tech since 1982.
Synth parts and service, Sydney Australia.

http://www.synthrepairs.com
User avatar
Steve Jones
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:40 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: upgrading OB-Xa

Postby drawtippy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:33 pm

Yes, sourcing the boards, tray, chips and having it all installed/calibrated by a tech would be cost prohibitive. On another note, I see you're in a RUSH cover band and assume you're striving for authenticity with the Taurus and possible OBXa? I strongly urge you to reconsider bringing an OBXa on the road/to many gigs. It's insanely complex, sensitive and HEAVY. Please, do yourself a favor and at least try a Matrix 1000 module midi-ed into your MS2000. You'll get authentic sounds at 1/4 the cost and 100% less hassle. I love my OB but that's just my 2 cents.

-rock on, new world man
Visit http://www.arttestmusic.com

Voyager, JP-6, Pro-One, 800DV, CZ-101, VL-1, Micron, Solina, OB-Xa, JX-8P, Sid Station, xoxbox
User avatar
drawtippy
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: NYC
Band: Draw Tippy


Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests