Akai Analog Drum Machine

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Blue Monster 65 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:21 pm

He hides how angry he's gotta be pretty well. I wonder who fried it and how they're gonna get home. :lol:

Seriously, though - that's too bad. Looking forward to the audio demos when they show up.
Muhahahahahahahahaha!
User avatar
Blue Monster 65
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1438
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:19 am
Location: down in the lab ...

Advertisement:

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Hugo76 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:58 pm

Some more info here:
Watch on youtube.com
Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby pflosi » Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:28 pm

:( no programmable gate
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2991
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Aaron2 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:57 pm

What a disasterous start for this product. It's set to make its debut at Musikmesse, and they have a broken machine, and -- to top things off nicely -- a lame excuse for how it got that way.

Why don't they just overnight another unit to Germany? Surely that can't be the only one in existence, can it?

There are going to be a flood of videos on YouTube in which the Akai rep will have to explain over and over again why they don't have a product to show. Bad PR, for sure.
Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Roland: Juno-106/S; JX-10; JX-8P; JX-3P; Juno-2
Elektron: MD, OT, A4, AK, AR
DSI: Tempest, MEK, P08M
Moog: Minitaur

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby griffin avid » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:46 pm

Except DSI showed up to two NAMMs with a non-working proto-typed mock-up box and people got excited.
Roland just had their product images leaked and we stayed nutty for pages.

I think AKAI will be okay.

I actually think it'd be nice if we (the general public) didn't get ANY info till it was ready to go.
I'm getting tired of lusting for things so far away.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com
User avatar
griffin avid
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby meatballfulton » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:27 pm

griffin avid wrote:I actually think it'd be nice if we (the general public) didn't get ANY info till it was ready to go.
I'm getting tired of lusting for things so far away.


+1,000,000

:agree:
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3518
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Motif XF6, Evolver, Moog Voyager (FS), Live 9

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Stab Frenzy » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:27 am

Does anyone actually believe that they had a fully functional unit that then stopped making sound? I sure don't. If they really did have it working and then fried it by shorting a power rail or similar then the sequencer/button/digital functions would be the first thing to go rather than the analogue sound generation bits. And if by some amazing fluke just the analogue generation parts were damaged surely whatever it was that was damaged would be readily available in a big city like Frankfurt. They should just have said that they haven't got it finished yet, I'm pretty sure everybody's aware that most of the stuff shown at trade shows hasn't even had time for the solder to cool.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 8984
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Hugo76 » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:55 am

I'll have to try one before I can decide wether or not I'll be purchasing this unit. It's starting to pile up with stuff here, and I'll be wiser to save up for the Analog RYTM instead (plus the A4 and the Octatrack). With the Akai, it'll all come down to how well the bass part will integrate with the drum parts, and how the overall sound will be.
Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1373
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Percivale » Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:40 am

That is normal, e.g. if Elektron can "lie" about their products and Samsung can "rig" benchmark scores, etc. It's marketing. There will always be believers.

Stab Frenzy wrote:Does anyone actually believe that they had a fully functional unit that then stopped making sound? I sure don't. If they really did have it working and then fried it by shorting a power rail or similar then the sequencer/button/digital functions would be the first thing to go rather than the analogue sound generation bits. And if by some amazing fluke just the analogue generation parts were damaged surely whatever it was that was damaged would be readily available in a big city like Frankfurt. They should just have said that they haven't got it finished yet, I'm pretty sure everybody's aware that most of the stuff shown at trade shows hasn't even had time for the solder to cool.
User avatar
Percivale
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:56 am
Location: SG Synthesizers Group
Gear: Blofeld, Juno-106, AN1X, MB-6582/SEQ V4, etc

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby rob_lee » Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:25 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote:Does anyone actually believe that they had a fully functional unit that then stopped making sound? I sure don't.


+1

Been looking at all these Messe videos on YouTube and these AKAI reps must feel like right MUGS when asked "Can we hear it"

I won't be investing in a bit of gear that breaks (IF IT DID) so easily lol :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
rob_lee
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: UK
Real name: Robbie
Gear: The field “Gear” is too long, a maximum of 150 characters is allowed.
Band: Rob Lee

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby adekoyote » Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:25 pm

Total Fail of a demo.
adekoyote
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:33 pm
Gear: YAMAHA PSR460, ROLAND MC808, EDIROL, APC20, Emu Proteus 2500 and Yamaha RS7000, Yamaha Su700, Roland VP9000, Yamaha AW4416, Desktop Evolver
Band: The Ghostz of More

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby calaverasgrande » Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:10 am

dang it I am really trying hard to fight my gear addiction, and this is not helping!
Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with all thy might; for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave
User avatar
calaverasgrande
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Oakland
Gear: MG1, MP201, MF101, MF102, MF105m, Taurus 3, SH09, KPR-77, Poly 61, Dark Energy, X0Xb0x, Dronelab, Atari Punk, Synsonics Drums, MDM MK I, Volcas
Band: N.S.V.

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby kaeth » Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:21 am

Having a broken unit seems a lot worse than having an unfinished one. Why would they trick people into thinking their product breaks easily?
kaeth
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:07 am

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby Percivale » Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:26 am

This thread's topic can be titled - Akai Rhythm Wolf.
User avatar
Percivale
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:56 am
Location: SG Synthesizers Group
Gear: Blofeld, Juno-106, AN1X, MB-6582/SEQ V4, etc

Re: Akai Analog Drum Machine

Postby calaverasgrande » Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:44 am

okay so is this another one of those "we have CV!" products that really doesn't?
I see one jack each for CV/Gate in and out.
Is this a stereo jack with separate CV and Gate?
In one of the demos the presenter makes it sound like it isn't CV gate at all but just clock pulse.
NOT THE SAME THING!
I'm still interested in it, but if it doesn't have CV AND gate, well one is kind of useless without the other (ahem... EHX)
I've also had bad luck in the past sharing a common ground with gate and CV. It should just work, but hey, a lot of gear is pissing all over the ground plane constantly.
Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with all thy might; for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave
User avatar
calaverasgrande
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:29 pm
Location: Oakland
Gear: MG1, MP201, MF101, MF102, MF105m, Taurus 3, SH09, KPR-77, Poly 61, Dark Energy, X0Xb0x, Dronelab, Atari Punk, Synsonics Drums, MDM MK I, Volcas
Band: N.S.V.

PreviousNext

Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], marland and 8 guests