What is your favourite reverb unit?

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

What is your favourite reverb unit?

Postby syntheticsolutions » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:33 pm

Apolagies if this should be in buyers guide,

I am looking to buy a nice reverb unit sometime soon (preferably 19" rack) however, I have very little experience with reverbs. I have used the quadraverb quite a lot and althought I like its depth and colour, I do find it a bit harsh and somewhat sharp due to the inherent digital artefacts.

I want one rack unit that will produce smooth, discreet reverbs of many types e.g plate, spring, hall etc. budget is somewhat flexible however I don't want to spend a ton of cash for the sake of it. And before anyone mentions it, NO, unfortunately I can not afford a lexicon 244 :(
Replicants are like any other machine, they're either a benefit or a hazard. If they're a benefit, its not my problem.
syntheticsolutions

Gear: OB-8, Jupiter 4, Polysix, Juno 6, RS-505, MS-10, VC-10, CS-15, Opus 3, Dark Energy, Dark Time,Machinedrum, DX, RE-501, DC-50, Roland Rack, Foogers
Band: Lunar Modular

Advertisement:

Re: What is your favourite reverb unit?

Postby madtheory » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:09 pm

Lexicon LXP15II is very nice, lots of possibilities for modulation via MIDI, or simply by adding pots to the CV inputs. Very good sounding reverb as well!

The Quadraverb is great too, it's easy enough to make it sound smoother. The presets tend to be unnaturally bright- roll off the top end and they all sound better. Great gritty sampler, good resonator on the "plus" version, which is the only version worth seeking out- the overdrive on the GT sounds very dated. It's not worth the extra bucks IMO.

Yamaha SPX90 is a crunchy classic, sits very well in a mix, even compared to more modern boxes.
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!