Rhodes Chroma Polaris vs Roland Juno 60

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

Rhodes Chroma Polaris vs Roland Juno 60

Postby ryryoftokyo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:03 pm

Might be able to trade a Juno 60 for one. Good idea? I really love the sound of the Juno 60 and have almost no time with the Polaris, but I've heard these are nothing shy of amazing. Thoughts?
Moog Multimoog Korg MS20 Korg Electribe EMX Korg Electribe EA1 Arturia Microbrute, Waldorf Blofeld Yamaha AN1x Korg microKORG Roland Juno 60 Yamaha DX7 Roland Alpha Juno 2 Korg Poly 61 Roland JX8P Sequential Circuits Split 8 Korg Monotron Delay
ryryoftokyo

Gear: Metal, plastic, wood, and electricity.
Band: EOC

Advertisement:

Re: Rhodes Chroma Polaris vs Roland Juno 60

Postby Jabberwalky » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:22 pm

I have no experience using a polaris, but I've seen one sitting around in a studio and it seemed to be rather flimsy feeling. The Juno60 wins in build quality/sliders department.
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer

Gear: Dx7|ProOne|MEK|9700s|Ms20m|700s|
|P61|An1x|Dx21|Emax2|Ds8
Band: Variar, Model Human

Postby ryryoftokyo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:42 pm

That's a little worrying considering that synth is supposed to be heavy as hell.
Moog Multimoog Korg MS20 Korg Electribe EMX Korg Electribe EA1 Arturia Microbrute, Waldorf Blofeld Yamaha AN1x Korg microKORG Roland Juno 60 Yamaha DX7 Roland Alpha Juno 2 Korg Poly 61 Roland JX8P Sequential Circuits Split 8 Korg Monotron Delay
ryryoftokyo

Postby Z » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:45 pm

I recently picked on up to flip. It is heavy, but did not seem flimsy. I've never spent any significant time with a Chroma Polaris to give any opinion on it sound, but the Chroma Polaris does have velocity sensitivity which is lacking in many vintage analog synths.
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer

Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Postby Jabberwalky » Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:15 am