8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby vicd » Sun May 11, 2014 10:06 pm

(patching time :!: )

Ok, so I'm looking for a 8x8 rackmount MIDI patchbay able to merge inputs. I probably also will do with a 6 ins/8 outs.
Spec sheet:
  • Ability to run standalone is A MUST; as is standalone configurability (no computer should be used - just me and the box).
  • If it happens to have any computer connectivity, it should be USB and should be able to run on XP and Win7 - be it a full computer-to-MIDI interface, or just patch management.
  • Memory-wise: ability to store at least 10-12 patch settings. Dozens = good, hundreds = not needed.
  • User interface: something non-spartan and visual is welcome.
  • Timing stability: well, the less jitter/slipping, the better.
  • I'd prefer one with an external PSU (to avoid all the usual 110/220 hassle), but that's of less importance.
  • Channel/event filtering doesn't matter (but good as an option).


So far I have the following on the list:
  • Roland A880 (too expensive?)
  • Edirol UM880 (too expensive?)
  • MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV (with or without USB)
  • Digital Music Corp MX-8
  • JL Cooper MSB 8x8
  • Akai ME80P

Speaking of budget, I'd prefer keeping it within US$100-150 (extendable if any really good reasons).

Would you guys please share any comments, caveats or advice?
Do I miss/omit anything?
Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8 or eMagic Unitor amt8 or any generation of MOTU Midi Express XT, if they happen to be properly manageable from a Windows7/XP PC?

P.S. - yes I did scan the related threads on GS.

I don't like the drums, but the drums like me!
User avatar
vicd
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:26 am
Location: Siberia
Real name: Victor
Gear: Blofeld, Formanta (EMS01, Maestro, Mini), Fusion 8HD, JD800, Morpheus, MP7, Plugiator, TG77, TOM1501, TR626, UltraProteus, V-Synth XT
Band: ROBOPOP

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby plus321 » Sun May 11, 2014 10:18 pm

kmx 16 or kmx 8. KMX-16 definitely has 15 ins, 16 outs, 2 inputs merge. Like $100-150 on ebay.
plus321
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby pflosi » Mon May 12, 2014 10:25 am

vicd wrote:Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8


I like the Midisport 8x8, it's very flexible; however, you need a computer to configure the routings.
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby fh991586 » Mon May 12, 2014 3:12 pm

I can vouch for the durability and the clear & simple interface of the Roland A-880. Up to $120 won't be lost on such a module (but I personally never had to pay more than $80 for one)! No computer required: it's a stand alone rack.
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE 1, M-OC 1, M-BD 1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby synthroom » Mon May 12, 2014 3:51 pm

pflosi wrote:
vicd wrote:Should I look into M-Audio Midisport 8x8


I like the Midisport 8x8, it's very flexible; however, you need a computer to configure the routings.


I've got two Midisport 8x8s - they work fine with Win7. And since they are actual Midi interfaces, you can just connect directly to devices without using any merging.

That said, I used a MX-8 before and it worked nicely for a merger, and a Yamaha MJC8 before that. I was never able to really figure out the Yamaha...
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.
User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: pdx
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby pflosi » Mon May 12, 2014 3:59 pm

Yeah, the Midisport is totally fine, but the OP stated he wanted to be able to configure the routing without using a computer... Which you cannot do with it...
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby synthroom » Mon May 12, 2014 5:26 pm

Sorry, missed that...

MX-8 then, not too expensive.
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.
User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: pdx
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby Quai34 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 7:46 am

Hi,
Yes for the roland A880, it was my first midi interface in the 80's with my Atari computer and I still use it when gigging live...very easy, no need to run a computer, you have memories for different configuration and anyway, just push buttons and it's set...so...
Quai34
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:30 am
Location: WINNIPEG MANITOBA CANADA
Real name: PHILIPPE
Gear: NORD STAGE 2, ROLAND D50, NORD C2 ORGAN, NORD LEAD 2X, YAMAHA TX802, OBERHEIM MATRIX 1000, EMU PROTEUS 2000, ROLAND XV5080, DSI PROPHET 08

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby Sava66 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:49 pm

I paid $35 for ensoniq kmx-8 on eBay. Pretty awesome
Sava66
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:40 pm

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby FlavioB » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:38 pm

HI there. I think I'm revamping an old thread here.. anyway: I got options to choose between Roland A-880 and Yamaha MJC-8. I never heard of the latter one, read more about A-880 instead.

What is the real difference between those two units?

Why does it seem "difficult" to figure out the Yamaha one?

Thanks and regards,
Flavio.
FlavioB
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby baz99 » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:53 pm

What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.
baz99
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 9:19 am
Location: Europe

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby FlavioB » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:59 pm

baz99 wrote:What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.

Really? Didn't know about this - even though I already saw some AMT8 in some studios!
OK... and... is there any way to dump/backup via SysEx those MIDI patchers/bays? AFAIK it's not possibile on the A-880...

Thanks and regards,
F.

PS: what are the pros/cons of the AMT8 vs. A-880 vs. MJC-8 vs. MKX-8/16?
FlavioB
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby FlavioB » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:29 pm

baz99 wrote:What about the Emagic AMT8?
It can work standalone and as a USB MIDI interface connected to a PC/Mac.

OK - back after some googling: the AMT-8 isnt' bad at all, but it has to be "pre-programmed" from PC/Mac. Thus it gets useless in some live rig where no PC/Mac is available.

I now was putting my eyes on a KMX-8 because of the ability to make SysEx dumps of the 30 patch memories it has.
So far, I have to leave out AMT-8 and eventually the MJC-8 as well (I've been told it being quite "cryptic" to configure/set up).

So, finally: KMX-8 vs. A-880!

Who wins?

Or are there some other pretenders?

F.
FlavioB
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:17 pm

Re: 8x8 MIDI patchbay with input merge?

Postby recordbot » Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:27 am

FlavioB wrote:
baz99 wrote:
Or are there some other pretenders?



Sycologic M16?

I have one in pieces if you want to pay postage it's yours, awesome machine, I am looking for another one, it remembers different midi configurations and has a remote

I don't think you can connect it to a computer though so you would need another midi USB to connect to it but from there you could control everything and swap layouts with the push of a button

the one I have speaks Japanese or there is something seriously wrong with it, when they work they go for 100-150

you could try a JL cooper synapse also which is similar but no remote, it does merge while the sycologic does not.
recordbot
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:01 pm
Location: MA


Return to Buyer's Guide

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests