Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

A forum for discussing the pros & cons of buying a particular synth and for advice on buying synthesizers.

Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:56 pm

I've been considering letting both of my moogerfooger 104m delays go to fund an A4. so I'm wondering, good many people use it as an FX processor and are you happy with it for that purpose?
P.S. I already know it's an incredible synth and sequencer so I'm not too concerned about that functionality.
thanks :D
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Advertisement:

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:30 am

I use it as an fx unit for my modular, it's great. Delay and reverb both sound really nice. I don't really use chorus ever so can't comment on that. I really like how with the delay you can change the gain staging to get different sounds from it.

Don't know if I'd sell my 104Z for an A4, those pedals are gold. But the A4 is a great box, especially if you have anything that takes CV.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:40 am

thanks for the tips, I definitely need some hands on time with one before I make a decision. I also really like the idea of being able to use the A4 as a filter bank and then modulating/p-locking the different filters
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby phesago » Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:43 am

The effects on the a4 are solid and the synth itself sound really good. I would never be w/o a moog delay though.

Though, i have wondered if a machinedrum would make a make a bad ass sequencer for a modular as long as you had midi modules. Between mults and the 16 tracks on the MD i think you could get some cool results? Idk im guessing but sounds cool.
Time for updates: pro-1 x2, Xpander, 808, mopho, SEM, PolyE, Voyager, Fr-Revo x2, XS, DRM MK3, KP3x2, mf104z x2, mf105m, mf103, space/time-factor, t3, nord g1..(plus other effects/sequencers/samplers and other shit).
phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Arizona
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:08 am

the dual delay has kinda become part of " my sound" I don't know maybe I just have bad GAS
p.s. it would also be nice to have a more portable synth that isn't a volca ( that little thing can melt some faces though)
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:09 am

the dual delay has kinda become part of " my sound" I don't know maybe I just have bad GAS
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:22 am

ColorForm2113 wrote:thanks for the tips, I definitely need some hands on time with one before I make a decision. I also really like the idea of being able to use the A4 as a filter bank and then modulating/p-locking the different filters

Yeah it's a great machine, you can get them pretty cheap second hand too now. If I were you I'd grab one second hand and have a play, don't sell the delays though. I haven't shed with sequencing the effects yet, don't really need that on the modular for the music I'm making, but I do love sequencing the Octatrack fx on the stuff I'm playing from that. Great for live shows.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby phesago » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:31 am

ColorForm2113 wrote:the dual delay has kinda become part of " my sound" I don't know maybe I just have bad GAS
p.s. it would also be nice to have a more portable synth that isn't a volca ( that little thing can melt some faces though)


Dude, dual 104z is pretty fucking rad.


Since they announced the mf104m sd, i know for a fact i could convince them to put extra bbd chips in one to mak thme a z and have them midi'd. Maybe im just retarded(most likely the casE) but i found the 104m to be a bit difficult to find the sweet spot i was looking for. Granted, I had a 104z for two eyars+ at that point and prolly just trained myself to know the pedal too well.

The thing that is bad ass about the 104m with elektron- sequencing midi events... ah yeah. Spill over when? Crazy feedback loops when? its fucking sweet thats for sure.
Time for updates: pro-1 x2, Xpander, 808, mopho, SEM, PolyE, Voyager, Fr-Revo x2, XS, DRM MK3, KP3x2, mf104z x2, mf105m, mf103, space/time-factor, t3, nord g1..(plus other effects/sequencers/samplers and other shit).
phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Arizona
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:33 am

phesago wrote:
Dude, dual 104z is pretty fucking rad.


Since they announced the mf104m i know for a fact i could convince them to put extra bbd chips in one to mak thme a z and have them midi'd. Maybe im just retarded(most likely the casE) but i found the 104m to be a bit difficult to find the sweet spot i was looking for. Granted, I had a 104z for two eyars+ at that point and prolly just trained myself to know the pedal too well.

The thing that is bad ass about the 104m with elektron- sequencing midi events... ah yeah. Spill over when? Crazy feedback loops when? its fucking sweet thats for sure.

I have the 104m not z , but yes that is true it would be funto sequence from the elektron. something I did not consider ..I think that convinced me... delays stay.
anybody want to but a kidney
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby phesago » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:13 pm

Dude, get a clusterflux! I did some awesome feedbacky nonsense with one and sequencing its feedback controls with a machinedrum. The only thing thts kind of annoying is having to real time record some of the stuff though. Builds are tedious to step program. THough I guess the real time record does give it a more "alive" feel to it, just sometimes 4 bars aint enough.
Time for updates: pro-1 x2, Xpander, 808, mopho, SEM, PolyE, Voyager, Fr-Revo x2, XS, DRM MK3, KP3x2, mf104z x2, mf105m, mf103, space/time-factor, t3, nord g1..(plus other effects/sequencers/samplers and other shit).
phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Arizona
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:26 pm

I had a cluster flux actually, it was awesome not I traded it and my moogerfooger ring mod to get my modular ( well not my whole modular but a good chunk of it)

I love the moogerfoogers but I got so annoyed with trying to find a way use them and keep the jacks accessible

...I need to stop watching elektron videos.. I'm getting irrational thoughts going through my head
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:26 pm

I had a cluster flux actually, it was awesome not I traded it and my moogerfooger ring mod to get my modular ( well not my whole modular but a good chunk of it)

I love the moogerfoogers but I got so annoyed with trying to find a way use them and keep the jacks accessible

...I need to stop watching elektron videos.. I'm getting irrational thoughts going through my head
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby phesago » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:12 pm

Tell me about it! Im waiting for someone to pay me for my future retro revolution so I can buy Z's octatrack. I cant wait to be in sample heaven 8) mainly i just want to compress several different samples into a single wave and then slice function and p locks to do some wild ass loops.
Time for updates: pro-1 x2, Xpander, 808, mopho, SEM, PolyE, Voyager, Fr-Revo x2, XS, DRM MK3, KP3x2, mf104z x2, mf105m, mf103, space/time-factor, t3, nord g1..(plus other effects/sequencers/samplers and other shit).
phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Arizona
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby ColorForm2113 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:29 pm

I've watched Dataline's sad look video probably 100 times, and I keep thinking I could probably sell everything and be happy with those 3 boxes.. . well maybe analog keys instead of A4, I need at least one keyboard
My modular so far: Q104, Q106, Q107, Q108, Q109 x2 , Q116, Q118, Q127 w/Q140, Q130, STG Wave Folder, playing with Moog Voyager, VX-351, CP-251, MF-104M (x2 STEREO!) Beat Step and Volca Beats
ColorForm2113
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:20 am
Location: CHICAGO-ish
Gear: tin cans and rubber bands
Band: Me twiddling in the corner...

Re: Elektron Analog 4 to double as FX processor?

Postby phesago » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:40 pm

watching it now. the video seems out of sync with the tune.


That guy knows elektron boxes inside and out. Everytime I watch something he does i learn some neat trick or short cut that isnt in a manual. Tekereth(?spelling) has pretty good info on how to use elektrons.


I would be happy with just MD, MnM and an octatrack, though being able to drop in random patches per step on the a4 is pretty baller.
Time for updates: pro-1 x2, Xpander, 808, mopho, SEM, PolyE, Voyager, Fr-Revo x2, XS, DRM MK3, KP3x2, mf104z x2, mf105m, mf103, space/time-factor, t3, nord g1..(plus other effects/sequencers/samplers and other shit).
phesago
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Arizona
Real name: Douglas
Gear: tech nine, bag of coke, an erection and a hostage

Next

Return to Buyer's Guide

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gcoudert and 7 guests