Syncing DAW's via network?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.

Syncing DAW's via network?

Postby MissionBrown » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:11 pm

After months of scratching my head I finally got my computers to talk to each other(frigging winders error....).

Anyway I've got Protools on the Mothership(desktop) and Live on the Away-Team(laptop) and I'm
wondering if its possible to sync 'em via midi(or some other means) through a firewire network or 100mb/s LAN.

Cheers
A
User avatar
MissionBrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:14 pm
Location: Fitzroy

Advertisement:

Postby putzgummycymbal » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:43 pm

get out of software now, while you still can. The further you get, the more convoluted it becomes. Prepare for a COLD WAR.
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust
User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN

Postby MissionBrown » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:52 pm

its too late for that....
my whole existence is a bitter struggle between a man and the machines he's become depentant upon
User avatar
MissionBrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:14 pm
Location: Fitzroy

Postby desdinova » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:20 am

MIDI's easy enough, you just have sync running out from your master computer and use external sync on the slave.
There are some midi over ethernet softs around but I've never played with them, I can't imagine wrapping a sync signal in more layers is good for it, but *shrug*
rerum concordia discors | genre: wankery
User avatar
desdinova
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 3:09 am
Location: MA

Postby MissionBrown » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:53 am

I figured as much, unfortunately the only midi port I have for the laptop is an out on the oxygen 8
I think digidesign has something but typically you have to pay extra for that.
they are doing some really nice plugin instruments these days though.
User avatar
MissionBrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:14 pm
Location: Fitzroy


Return to Software Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests