I'm new to this, maybe you can help me =]

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.

I'm new to this, maybe you can help me =]

Postby pan1k » Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:28 am

ok,
so I am fairly new to synthesis to begin with, however, I have one question that I can not seem to figure out, I have been looking to Reason 3.0,
and I am considering using it. What equipment would I need to get to use the sounds produced via Reason? Would I need a sampler or a snyth with a MIDI controller?

PS: Thanks for the advice in advance
-Lee > the rest
pan1k

Advertisement:

Postby Yoozer » Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:53 am

Reason has already a synth and a sampler built in. Just go download the demo version at http://www.propellerheads.se/download/i ... =mainframe and play a bit with it.

The other things you need are:

- a decent audio interface (e.g. soundcard geared towards music production as opposed to gaming - so an E-mu 0404 or M-Audio Audiophile instead of an Audigy or X-Fi)
- a decent pair of monitor speakers (speakers that do not "color" the sound too much).
- a MIDI controller keyboard (a "dummy" keyboard that acts as a remote and doesn't have its own sounds).

What's your budget?
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member

Postby MissionBrown » Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:05 am

for around the same money go for ableton live
you can add things after market like soft synths etc....
MissionBrown

Postby DX » Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:31 am

I think Live and Reason are different things.
I have played both, and for realtime and djing, i choose live. BUt for production and sequencing, I choose Reason.
Regards.
E-mu EMAX. Yamaha DX7, DX7 II FD, DX27S, Roland JP8000, D10, JX-8P. Korg POLY800. Casio CZ1000, Casiotone MT-70, SK1 (lost in my house), Commodore C64 w/ prophet64. Akai S3000 XL HD. KURZWEIL PC1x
DX

Postby MissionBrown » Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:55 am