How do you connect an oxygen 8 V2 to an amp?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.

How do you connect an oxygen 8 V2 to an amp?

Postby andrew13 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:20 pm

I have no idea (i'm new to this thing) and like I bought it for my band but I can't help if I don't know how to connect it to an amp. A little help? Any suggestions would be most welcome.
M-Audio oxygen 49, Microkorg, Alesis Micron.
I only wish I could own a Clavia Nord lead 2.
andrew13

Advertisement:

Re: How do you connect an oxygen 8 V2 to an amp?

Postby toad » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:45 pm

It's just a MIDI controller and has no built-in sounds.
You have to connect it (using a MIDI cable) to a sound source, like a sound module or one of your synths first, and then connect the audio out from the sound source to the amp.
You can also connect it to a computer via USB, but that too is only for MIDI data.
toad

Postby Bitexion » Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:37 pm

Oh my, I hope you have some other synth(s) aswell..the Oxygen is just a MIDI controller, it contains no sounds of its own. It is meant to control a rack synth or other synth via MIDI cables.

So if your band just told you to go and buy a "keyboard coz we want those synth sounds", then I think you've been had royally..
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer

Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Postby pricklyrobot » Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:56 am

So wait, you have all of this stuff: MicroKorg, Alesis Micron, Korg R3, Korg Micro X, Novation bass station, Clavia Nord modular, Casio MT-40, Yamaha PSR-73, but you've never connected anything to an amp before and you don't know the difference between a synth and a MIDI controller?

Suggestions? Yes, take your head out of your ass and work a little harder on your joke posts. This is just lame.