External gate pulse trigger Reason

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.

External gate pulse trigger Reason

Postby tomorrowstops » Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:37 pm

Is there a way a sequencer (or any other rhythmic device) in Reason can be triggered by an external pulse?

The project I'm working on was recorded straight to 2" tape, and then dumped into Pro Tools for editing and further overdubs. There was a click printed to tape as well. Now that I'm in Pro Tools, the tape click doesn't quite conform to PT's click (long story.) I'm sure one option is using beat detective to create a new tempo map based on the printed tape click. But if there's a way I could turn that tape click pulse into a trigger gate for either Reason or even an external midi sequencer, that would be awesome.

Suggestions?
tomorrowstops
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Portland, ME

Advertisement:

Re: External gate pulse trigger Reason

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:01 am

The easiest way is to just use Beat Detective, it's really not that hard. There are a bunch of videos on youtube that tell you what to do to get it working, that's your best bet. :thumbleft:
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9059
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: External gate pulse trigger Reason

Postby tomorrowstops » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:51 am

Yeah, I know.
tomorrowstops
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Portland, ME


Return to Software Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests