Recording the Korg Ms-20 Mini using a Scarlett 2i4

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.

Recording the Korg Ms-20 Mini using a Scarlett 2i4

Postby DylanCaines » Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:56 pm

Hi, I have the Korg Ms-20 Mini synth and I'd really like to start recording it onto my Mac. I have Logic Pro X, and am thinking of purchasing the Scarlett 2i4 USB audio interface.

I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to technology, I get kinda confused. I just wanna know - will buying this Scarlett 2i4 allow me to record the Korg Ms-20 Mini onto my Mac? I'm assuming the connections will go Synth to Microphone to Audio Interface to Logic Pro. Is this right?

If the Scarlett 2i4 is not suitable for recording the Korg, I'd appreciate information on other USB audio interfaces that could help me record it.

Thanks a lot
DylanCaines

Advertisement:

Re: Recording the Korg Ms-20 Mini using a Scarlett 2i4

Postby Tchammosaur » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:25 am

Yes, the Scarlett 2i4 will work. But you probably won't need a microphone...
The purpose of art is not the release of a momentary ejection of adrenalin but is, rather, the gradual, lifelong construction of a state of wonder and serenity.

-Glenn Gould
Tchammosaur

Postby Ashe37 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:32 am

Audio out from the MS-20 to audio in on the 2i4. No microphone involved.
Ashe37

Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Postby madmarkmagee » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:24 pm

DylanCaines wrote:Hi, I have the Korg Ms-20 Mini synth and I'd really like to start recording it onto my Mac. I have Logic Pro X, and am thinking of purchasing the Scarlett 2i4 USB audio interface.