Looping issues on S950

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Looping issues on S950

Postby Architecture » Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:51 am

One of the problems I have had for the longest time with the S950 is a workable loop. No matter how many times I tweek the loop point, it always makes a poping sound of some variation everytime it loops.

How can I get a usable drum/sample loop out of the S950?
User avatar
Architecture
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:08 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gear: TR909, TR808 Dot Com, Moog LP. x0xb0x, Andromeda A6, AX60, SQ80, EPS, DSI PEK Pot Edition, ASR10, Juno 60.
Band: Architecture!

Advertisement:

Postby tallowwaters » Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:53 am

does it have a crossfade option?
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.
User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut
Gear: synesthesia, venereal disease, obsessive compulsive disorder, manic depressive disorder, and sensitive skin.

Postby Architecture » Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:09 am

it does, but still doesn't eliminate the clicking sound from previous experience.

What disturbs me is I can get a smooth sounding drum loop out of my S612, but I'll transfer it over and try to do the same on the S950, and no matter what I do, it always making a clicking sound when it loops.

maybe thats it.
User avatar
Architecture
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:08 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gear: TR909, TR808 Dot Com, Moog LP. x0xb0x, Andromeda A6, AX60, SQ80, EPS, DSI PEK Pot Edition, ASR10, Juno 60.
Band: Architecture!

Postby tallowwaters » Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:38 pm

having no experience with akais, i cant get too specific, but you can try this

do you have a wave editor? you can find one for free, and they are easy to use. try lopping (seamlessly) and chopping the wave in there and once you see where the wave ends (down to the millisecond) dump it or sample it into your akai and see if it pops.

what are all the loop options available to you?
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.
User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut
Gear: synesthesia, venereal disease, obsessive compulsive disorder, manic depressive disorder, and sensitive skin.

Postby Architecture » Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:28 am

well believe it or not, just after I posted this, I've been making perfect loops nonstop now.

I was using the audio trigger method for the longest time, and thats when I got most of these problems.

now im using the any key feature, which allows me to have fuller control of where its starts recording. It seems to work better with the beginning at 0.

maybe Im just getting better with it the more I use it too.

I just made a song that I'll be posting in the lounge section.

Thanks for everything Tallowwaters.
User avatar
Architecture
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:08 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gear: TR909, TR808 Dot Com, Moog LP. x0xb0x, Andromeda A6, AX60, SQ80, EPS, DSI PEK Pot Edition, ASR10, Juno 60.
Band: Architecture!

Postby tallowwaters » Sun Nov 12, 2006 12:06 am

glad you got it fixed.

gotta love samplers
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.
User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5032
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut
Gear: synesthesia, venereal disease, obsessive compulsive disorder, manic depressive disorder, and sensitive skin.


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest