New to sampling! Thinking of getting an electribe esx-1.

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

New to sampling! Thinking of getting an electribe esx-1.

Postby sadielove » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:44 am

Hey Everyone,

I've played acoustic instruments my whole life, but am just starting to become interested in electronic equipment. I've been playing around with a microkorg and a kaossolator pro for a little while, and I've got a few keyboards I play. I've been starting to research samplers, and am looking at the electribe esx-1. I've never used a sampler before and am a little confused as to what exactly this piece of equipment is capable of. Will I be able to create samples from my synthesizers and keyboards and save them onto the electribe? Or do I have to use pre-made samples on the electibe?
sadielove

Advertisement:

Re: New to sampling! Thinking of getting an electribe esx-1.

Postby visceralvoids » Wed Mar 07, 2012 6:58 am

You can record/store 384 samples @ 285 seconds of memory. Not all of them in stereo. If you want to make a stereo connection you need to set it in global mode and use a stereo phone jack. When you get one, it''s full of preloaded samples. Sampling is faster with the SmartMedia card. It has a mono audio-in. Restoring to factory settings wipes it clean though. Yamaha RS-7000 is a similar alternative.
visceralvoids

Gear: Access Virus TI - Roland JD990 - Sequential Drumtraks

Postby cartesia » Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:53 am

For the record the new ones have SD cards, also the audio input is selectable as mono or stereo on both new + old

But yeah - you can import your own samples either on the card via a computer (wav or aiff files), or you can record audio input directly from something into the esx.