Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:46 am

Hey team-

I recently replaced the cd-rom in my CD3000XL, and I'm having some trouble pinning down which part of the equation is causing a problem. Potential culprits: CD3000XL, Yamaha CRW6416s drive, or the CD-rom analog cable.

The new drive will load Akai disks just fine, but when I go to sample from CD, it won't even play the disk. I had to hack together a new cable with a 4-pin connector, so maybe that's the issue (although, I did test the cable with a multimeter before I put it back in). Could it be a jumper setting? Hardware problem?

Thanks for your help!
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Advertisement:

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:00 pm

Nobody? *crickets*
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Ashe37 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:37 am

What kind of drive does the akai take? IDE?

What kind of master/slave settings did you use on the drive? what kind of settings does the Akai need? (Note: CS probably does not work)
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:05 pm

The unit uses a SCSI CD-ROM. I wish it were IDE. I'd have a much easier time finding a replacement. As for the settings, I've got jumpers on ID SELECT 4, TERMINATOR, and BLOCK SIZE. I also tried it with just the jumper on ID SELECT 4, as on the previous drive. No change. Also, what's CS? :oops:

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:18 am

Silverfish wrote:The unit uses a SCSI CD-ROM. I wish it were IDE. I'd have a much easier time finding a replacement. As for the settings, I've got jumpers on ID SELECT 4, TERMINATOR, and BLOCK SIZE. I also tried it with just the jumper on ID SELECT 4, as on the previous drive. No change. Also, what's CS? :oops:

Thanks for your help.


CS is cable select on newer IDE drives. Older IDE controllers can't recognize it.

Is the SCSI ID and block size set to the same settings as on the original drive?
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:56 am

Yes, same SCSI ID and block size. The weird part is that it will load Akai disks perfectly, but it just won't play or record an audio CD. I'm wondering if it's just not compatible.
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:25 am

looking through the manual, no, it can't sample from an audio CD.
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:44 am

Erm... Are we looking at the same manual?

Page 126
RECORDING FROM AUDIO CDs
Using the internal CD-ROM player, the CD3000XL allows you to record data from audio CDs. Possibly the most useful application for this is to record directly from ‘sampling’ CDs. A sampling CD is a CD made especially for sampling that contains the individual sounds of various instruments such as synthesizer, drums, orchestra, and sound effects, etc..
When you select “CD-AUDIO”, you will see a window in the centre of the screen in which you can select a track(s) and an index . To change a track, move the cursor to the field, and select the desired track. If the selected track contains some indexed recordings, move the cursor to the field to select an index.


It goes on to talk about the Transport Controls for playing/recording analog audio from the CD.

Are Sample CDs different from any other audio CD (other than content, obviously)? This isn't talking about an Akai format CD, is it?
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:17 am

ok, i was looking at the wrong page...

is there another cable for just the audio coming off the CD-ROM?
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:54 am

Yes, there is, and I had to splice the analog audio cable together to get the proper connector for the new CD-ROM drive. I tested the cable with a multimeter, and it checked out okay.
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:18 am

Ok, is the audio coming off the cd-rom analog audio or the less common digital audio?
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:52 am

The CD-ROM manual made no mention of analog or digital audio, but it did say "line out" in the specifications. I'm assuming it's analog audio, on four pins (Left, Ground, Ground, Right).

I'm going to track down the manual for the original drive... maybe that one was digital out....

Also, I find it really weird that it will read Akai disks just fine, even burned CD-Rs, but it won't touch Audio CDs.

Thanks again for your help. I sincerely appreciate it!
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby madtheory » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:34 am

I would assume that the original Akai drive would sample via digital audio output, not an analogue one. Would have to see a schematic to check though. Does the original drive have just two terminals for audio? Which would imply S/Pdif.
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 3206
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Fabreeze, Buck Owens Moog, Korg Warlock 9000, Roland Sultan of Brunei, Moog Ribald Cat.
Band: madtheory

Re: Akai CD3000XL CD-Rom sampling

Postby Silverfish » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:15 pm

The original drive has three terminals (Left, Right, Ground). The drive is pretty much FUBAR, but I'm gonna pop it back in and see if I can get it to sample.
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests