Question About Akai S3000XL Functionality

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Question About Akai S3000XL Functionality

Postby TechnicolorTR606 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:39 pm

I may come off sounding like a moron in this thread, but I'm pretty new to the world of electronic music, and just recently started buying gear for this. I've been playing and learning music for many years though so I know a lot about how music works as a whole. After hearing Ten Ragas to a Disco Beat, Music Has The Right To Children, and Endtroducing..... for the first time about 7 months ago, I put away my electric guitar and bass in place of analog synths, sequencers, samplers, and drum machines.

Anyways, in March of this year I really wanted a sampler and after considering many options I decided to go ahead and buy an Akai S3000XL and MPC 2000XL just to get started in the world of samplers. Now the MPC functionality is pretty self explanatory. I know how to use it, I know what it does and how to do it, and I know its limitations. This is not the sampler I am referring to.

The Akai S3000XL is a different story though. It's just great, definitely not the best in the world, but damn good to be sure. But unlike the MPC I feel like I am not using it to it's full potential. As of now, I primarily use it for loading samples for the sole purpose of playing them back on a keyboard through MIDI. I pretty much though that was it's main purpose, kind of like a rackmount Emu Emulator. But as I read more about the Akai S-series the more I question it's functionality. I recently read a Boards of Canada interview when Mike said: