ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby mother_fox » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:07 pm

I cant get my IOMEGA ZIP 100 to work with my AKAI S5000, I have tried 3 different IOMEGA ZIP 100 but non of them seems to work, all of my other SCSI set up is working. I had a IOMEGA ZIP 100 working with the sampler for 7 years ago but the drive broke down.
Does any one know what to do?
What´s the ID number on a IOMEGA ZIP 100?
Can it possible be the OS v2.14?
Where can I get an early OS version just to try?
User avatar
mother_fox
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:26 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden
Gear: Korg ES-1
Korg ms2000
Korg polysix
PAIA Thermine
Prophet 5
Roland SH09
Teisco SX 400
Akai s3200
Akai s5000
E-mu E6400 Ultra

Advertisement:

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby synthroom » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:44 pm

Make sure you really have a SCSI interface on the Zip drive. Is there the little SCSI logo above the port or a pictogram of a printer?

Iomega made them in several configurations and both SCSI and parallel port drives have a DB-25 interface on them. The parallel port version doesn't have a SCSI ID switch, where as the SCSI ones do.

See this page for more info:
http://www.iomega.com/europe/support/en ... 1382e.html
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.
User avatar
synthroom
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: pdx
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:51 pm

Also there is a small SCSi termination switch on the back of the s5000. Check in the manual that this is correctly set (I don;t know if it should be on or off but the manual will tell you!)
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Kawai SX210, Moog Source, SH101,Yamaha SY35, EMU Orbit 3, Korg M500, V-Synth XT, Yamaha EX5, Yamaha RS7000, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby mother_fox » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:27 pm

Thanks for the link, it realy gave me more info about the ZIP drive, all of my drives has the "printer" symbol :|
User avatar
mother_fox
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:26 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden
Gear: Korg ES-1
Korg ms2000
Korg polysix
PAIA Thermine
Prophet 5
Roland SH09
Teisco SX 400
Akai s3200
Akai s5000
E-mu E6400 Ultra

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:37 pm

I may have a spare scsi ZIP to sell...........I'm about to head off on a course for a few days but if you are interested I can check when I get back?
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Kawai SX210, Moog Source, SH101,Yamaha SY35, EMU Orbit 3, Korg M500, V-Synth XT, Yamaha EX5, Yamaha RS7000, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:39 pm

Just checked (forget my old samplers are in a rack case under the desk!) - got two so happy to sell one....pm me if interested c£25-30 plus postage. Got some disks as well...........
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Kawai SX210, Moog Source, SH101,Yamaha SY35, EMU Orbit 3, Korg M500, V-Synth XT, Yamaha EX5, Yamaha RS7000, Logic X, Cubase 7.5


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests