ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby mother_fox » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:07 pm

I cant get my IOMEGA ZIP 100 to work with my AKAI S5000, I have tried 3 different IOMEGA ZIP 100 but non of them seems to work, all of my other SCSI set up is working. I had a IOMEGA ZIP 100 working with the sampler for 7 years ago but the drive broke down.
Does any one know what to do?
What´s the ID number on a IOMEGA ZIP 100?
Can it possible be the OS v2.14?
Where can I get an early OS version just to try?
User avatar
mother_fox
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:26 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden
Gear: Korg ES-1
Korg ms2000
Korg polysix
PAIA Thermine
Prophet 5
Roland SH09
Teisco SX 400
Akai s3200
Akai s5000
E-mu E6400 Ultra

Advertisement:

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby synthroom » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:44 pm

Make sure you really have a SCSI interface on the Zip drive. Is there the little SCSI logo above the port or a pictogram of a printer?

Iomega made them in several configurations and both SCSI and parallel port drives have a DB-25 interface on them. The parallel port version doesn't have a SCSI ID switch, where as the SCSI ones do.

See this page for more info:
http://www.iomega.com/europe/support/en ... 1382e.html
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.
User avatar
synthroom
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: pdx
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:51 pm

Also there is a small SCSi termination switch on the back of the s5000. Check in the manual that this is correctly set (I don;t know if it should be on or off but the manual will tell you!)
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Waldorf XTk, Yamaha SY35, Jen SX1000, EMU Orbit 3, Yamaha RS7000, Roland CR78, Univox SR95, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby mother_fox » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:27 pm

Thanks for the link, it realy gave me more info about the ZIP drive, all of my drives has the "printer" symbol :|
User avatar
mother_fox
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:26 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden
Gear: Korg ES-1
Korg ms2000
Korg polysix
PAIA Thermine
Prophet 5
Roland SH09
Teisco SX 400
Akai s3200
Akai s5000
E-mu E6400 Ultra

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:37 pm

I may have a spare scsi ZIP to sell...........I'm about to head off on a course for a few days but if you are interested I can check when I get back?
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Waldorf XTk, Yamaha SY35, Jen SX1000, EMU Orbit 3, Yamaha RS7000, Roland CR78, Univox SR95, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: ZIP Drive won´t work with my S5000

Postby Fatbenelton » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:39 pm

Just checked (forget my old samplers are in a rack case under the desk!) - got two so happy to sell one....pm me if interested c£25-30 plus postage. Got some disks as well...........
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Waldorf XTk, Yamaha SY35, Jen SX1000, EMU Orbit 3, Yamaha RS7000, Roland CR78, Univox SR95, Logic X, Cubase 7.5


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest