Real time sampling in v-synth?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby n3wt15 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:25 pm

Im wondering if it is possible to sample in realtime on the vsynth, i know I can sample with it, and play the sample in reverse and whatnot, but then I have to save it and import it into a sound to be able to really play with it. I was wondering if there is another work around for this, basically Im trying to see if there is a way I can sample my tempest in realtime, and stretch it, use the effects on the vsynth...so far it looks like I can not do this, but just checking here before I pull out my hair and give up.
User avatar
n3wt15
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:49 am
Location: buffalo, ny
Gear: a never ending cycle of ins and outs
Band: Armageddon Party

Advertisement:

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby adekoyote » Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:56 am

this is definitely going into "looper" territory. Realtime sampling is what live loopers are all about. KP3, electrix repeater and the roland RC505 are the beast that come to mind...standard samplers don't let you do this in a live context.
adekoyote
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:33 pm
Gear: YAMAHA PSR460, ROLAND MC808, EDIROL, APC20, Emu Proteus 2500 and Yamaha RS7000, Yamaha Su700, Roland VP9000, Yamaha AW4416, Desktop Evolver
Band: The Ghostz of More

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:05 am

Yeah you can't do it with the vsynth, you need either an octatrack or an mc-909 to do that.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby Bitexion » Sat Jun 08, 2013 3:08 pm

It would be best to get one of the popular looper pedals and do the sampling with that. They have super-easy interfaces where you pretty much just step on it to start sampling, step again to stop and it goes on looping it while you can play other things.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby n3wt15 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:57 pm

Ok, i figured as much, I have a Kp3, but Its very limited for looping, nothing over 16 steps, and it has to be increments of 4, which is the worst part, Ive been doing a lot of things in 7 lately so that just doesnt work....I didnt click with the octatrack when I had one, though may try it again....I should just go the ableton route, which will probably happen eventually, im just procrastinating.
User avatar
n3wt15
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:49 am
Location: buffalo, ny
Gear: a never ending cycle of ins and outs
Band: Armageddon Party

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby adekoyote » Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:12 pm

Check out the Roland RC505...it looks cool and is table top...it could be just what you are looking for.
adekoyote
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:33 pm
Gear: YAMAHA PSR460, ROLAND MC808, EDIROL, APC20, Emu Proteus 2500 and Yamaha RS7000, Yamaha Su700, Roland VP9000, Yamaha AW4416, Desktop Evolver
Band: The Ghostz of More

Re: Real time sampling in v-synth?

Postby skinnypuppy » Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:17 pm

I have a Korg Kaos Pad at home and I just run my Roland synth through it. It acts a sampler with tons of effects, including looping realtime. You can even resample several times. So you can create a loop that's been processed by several layers of effects. It has a touch screen interface that I'm not too interested in, but you can trigger samples to a key.
skinnypuppy
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:04 pm


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests