yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby dubstep » Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:28 pm

So my yamaha cs10 is making a continuous sound even when both oscillators and the master volume are turned all the way down. The sound responds to all the vco parameters as well as the pitch bend, glide and vca lfo. The sound goes away after I turn the console off and on again however as soon as I press a key it comes back. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
dubstep
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:04 pm

Advertisement:

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby pflosi » Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:06 pm

seems like the vca could use some calibration
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby garranimal » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:20 pm

That's weird the master volume has no effect. Maybe the master volume needs cleaning or replaced.

You haven't mentioned trying these things yet. Make sure in the VCA the Hold/EG switch is set to EG, as it appears the sounds may not passing thru the Envelope Generator. Make sure the Envelope Generator is set to 'Normal' and not 'TIMEx5' as you may have an exceeding long release time.
User avatar
garranimal
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Band: G-Strom Electro

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby nadafarms » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:21 pm

dude are you sure you don't have the vca gain all the way up? it's on the far top right on the cs synths and will make your synth continually drone if it's up at all it should be all the way down.

it's been a long time since I've had a cs but this happened to me many times...
for sale/trade: EML-101
User avatar
nadafarms
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:33 am
Location: NorCal

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby HideawayStudio » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:43 pm

nadafarms wrote:dude are you sure you don't have the vca gain all the way up? it's on the far top right on the cs synths and will make your synth continually drone if it's up at all it should be all the way down.

it's been a long time since I've had a cs but this happened to me many times...


Spot on - I was thinking the same thing as nadafarms. I had a CS-5 for many years and this feature forever caught me out. It was over on the top right on the CS-5 too. I'll bet there is nothing wrong with your CS-10 - these things are indestructible!
H.I.D.E.A.W.A.Y S.T.U.D.I.O
http://www.hideawaystudio.co.uk
The Home of Novachord #346
http://www.novachord.co.uk
User avatar
HideawayStudio
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: UK
Real name: Dan Wilson
Gear: 163 tubes in a large wooden box!
Band: Hideaway Studio

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby nathanscribe » Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:46 pm

Doesn't the CS-10 have a separate volume control though..?
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby HideawayStudio » Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:25 pm

nathanscribe wrote:Doesn't the CS-10 have a separate volume control though..?


Yes it does - as does the CS-5 - the problem is the weird VCA gain control is confusing at best. If it's wound up too high it has the effect of preventing the envelope shutting off the VCA hence the note sounding for ever. There are times where I guess this might be useful - eg. passing an external input through the filter but most of the time it's annoying.

Knowing just how reliable these beasts are I really doubt it's any more than this.
H.I.D.E.A.W.A.Y S.T.U.D.I.O
http://www.hideawaystudio.co.uk
The Home of Novachord #346
http://www.novachord.co.uk
User avatar
HideawayStudio
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: UK
Real name: Dan Wilson
Gear: 163 tubes in a large wooden box!
Band: Hideaway Studio

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby dubstep » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:17 pm

thanks for all the replies unfortunately I don't think its the vca gain control because the cs 10 doesn't have one.
Here is a pic:
http://www.proun.net/img/yamaha/yamaha_cs10.jpg
The sound is still affected by the keyboard in that I can play melodies and the sound reacts just as if i was normally playing the synth with the vca hold switch on however, in the mixer section everything is turned down and the volume is all the way down. Could it be something to do with with the trigger as the sound only comes on after a key is hit?

any ideas are appreciated although I'm slowly coming to the realization that I might need to take a trip to the synth technician.
dubstep
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:04 pm

Re: yamaha cs10 problems, please help

Postby HideawayStudio » Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:13 am

dubstep wrote:thanks for all the replies unfortunately I don't think its the vca gain control because the cs 10 doesn't have one.
Here is a pic:
http://www.proun.net/img/yamaha/yamaha_cs10.jpg
The sound is still affected by the keyboard in that I can play melodies and the sound reacts just as if i was normally playing the synth with the vca hold switch on however, in the mixer section everything is turned down and the volume is all the way down. Could it be something to do with with the trigger as the sound only comes on after a key is hit?

any ideas are appreciated although I'm slowly coming to the realization that I might need to take a trip to the synth technician.


Yes - apologies about this - I used to own a CS5 and always thought what functionality the CS10 shared was the same - obviously some details are different.

That said - it could still be something silly.
H.I.D.E.A.W.A.Y S.T.U.D.I.O
http://www.hideawaystudio.co.uk
The Home of Novachord #346
http://www.novachord.co.uk
User avatar
HideawayStudio
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: UK
Real name: Dan Wilson
Gear: 163 tubes in a large wooden box!
Band: Hideaway Studio


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests