How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:14 pm

c**p.

I'll try it anyway with the wav file. What do I have to lose, anyway?
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby gcoudert » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:17 pm

If I can find the time, I'll download Reaper and see if I can guide you through the steps but I'm going back to work tomorrow after 3 weeks' holiday (bl**dy teachers!) so it'll be hard.
GC
gcoudert
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Location: SE England
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Fantom X8 + Ultimate Keys, Orchestral & Dynamic Drums expansions, Fantom X7, Tascam DP-24SD.
Band: No name yet

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:48 pm

Thank you! But there is no rush on my behalf.

Mostly, I'd like to know which of the 3 following statements apply to my situation:
1- The U220 is too complicated to work with for what it's worth (hence the few people still using it)
2- My unit has something broken inside or a corrupted program
3- I'm too stupid to make it work

Meanwhile, I still have some Sysex Device ID to try on... ;-)
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby gcoudert » Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:20 pm

fh991586 wrote:Thank you! But there is no rush on my behalf.

Mostly, I'd like to know which of the 3 following statements apply to my situation:
1- The U220 is too complicated to work with for what it's worth (hence the few people still using it)
2- My unit has something broken inside or a corrupted program
3- I'm too stupid to make it work

Meanwhile, I still have some Sysex Device ID to try on... ;-)


3- highly unlikely!
2- maybe the file isn't right. Have you tried another?
1- I think it's a good machine. I had a U110 as my first PCM-based module back in 89 and a D70 later.

I think the reason people aren't using the U220 anymore is because the internal sounds are rather dated, but then that's a matter of personal preference. I like 80s sounds; my whole sample library is 1980s.
GC
gcoudert
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Location: SE England
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Fantom X8 + Ultimate Keys, Orchestral & Dynamic Drums expansions, Fantom X7, Tascam DP-24SD.
Band: No name yet

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 am

Considering everything, I'm pretty sure it's the file I'm trying to upload that is simply wrong. Otherwise, all seems fine about my unit.

If anybody can provide me something different than the wav file from Roland's website, I would try it with pleasure.
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby cornutt » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:31 pm

It's a .wav file??? :shock: Did the U220 have the cassette save/load interface? I would have thought that was obsolete technology at the time the U220 was designed.
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!
User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Rocket City USA
Gear: 6th

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:19 am

cornutt wrote:It's a .wav file??? :shock: Did the U220 have the cassette save/load interface? I would have thought that was obsolete technology at the time the U220 was designed.


No, my mistake: it's a .mid file, but it just doesn't work with with unit. Of course the cassette interface must have been old news by then!

ftp://ftp.roland.co.uk/ProductSupport/U-220/
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby cornutt » Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:19 pm

oh, OK. You had me going there for a minute. :D Which Roland site did you get that file from?
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!
User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Rocket City USA
Gear: 6th

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:46 pm

Roland UK
ftp://ftp.roland.co.uk/ProductSupport/U-220/

It's the same file I've encountered on every websites that were still hosting such a thing. Some older sites mentionned a sysex (even a special factory card with presets for such operation), but without any link to get it.
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby gcoudert » Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:22 pm

I don't know if they're the factory patches but I found this page:
Click here

Scroll down (or 'Find') to Roland U220, right-click the 'Roland U220' heading and select 'Save Target As...'
Save the zipped file and extract it. It contains a SETUP file, a PATCHES file and an ALL file, all in proper sysex (.syx) format.

Try sending that from a universal sysex application and see if it works.
GC
gcoudert
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Location: SE England
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Fantom X8 + Ultimate Keys, Orchestral & Dynamic Drums expansions, Fantom X7, Tascam DP-24SD.
Band: No name yet

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:52 pm

Thanks for the link: I never encountered this website before!

Unfortunately, those sysex files are not recognised but my U220. The midi led just doesn't blink when I try to upload them (any of them). It seems it will only recognise a midi file (then the light blinks), even though it won't do anything with it... :evil:

What universal sysex application should I use? Any suggestion for a program that won't take a week for a midi/sysex illiterate to understand?
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby gcoudert » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:08 am

fh991586 wrote:What universal sysex application should I use? Any suggestion for a program that won't take a week for a midi/sysex illiterate to understand?


I would love to answer this one. Unfortunately, as I described in another thread, my music PC has just died. I will have to get another one myself.

You could always try MIDI-OX: Click here! I found it on the web but have not tried it.

GC
GC
gcoudert
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Location: SE England
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Fantom X8 + Ultimate Keys, Orchestral & Dynamic Drums expansions, Fantom X7, Tascam DP-24SD.
Band: No name yet

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby fh991586 » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:10 pm

I have installed and tried Midi-Ox & Elektron C6, and they both reacted in the same way. Quite friendly interface (Elektron is dead simple!), but not working for my unit. I midi file would never load, but I was able to do a dump from the U220 into the computer using these software (one way ticket).

I guess that's it. I'm not going to lose anymore time on that problem, and just forget about those 19 preset patches. Thanks for everything, but it looks like I'm chasing my tail here... :roll:
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: How to load presets on a Roland U220?

Postby Mr_Mojo_Risin » Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:31 pm

Everything you need to know about keeping your U-20 / U-220 / U-110 in working order. Loading Patches, Info, Factory Fresh Setup, Accessories, etc...
:dancer: U-20 HOMEPAGE http://llamamusic.com/u20/u-20.html

Image
Equipment List;
Roland MKS-70. MKS-50, U-20, U-110, D-110, S-50, S-550, JV-880, GR-1
Yamaha FB-01
Kawai K1r
PGH 10+1 x 2
Art SGE Mach II
Akai ME20A, ME30P
Mackie LM-3204
PAiA 6710
Fostex 3010, 3011
User avatar
Mr_Mojo_Risin
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:10 pm
Gear: MKS-70, JX-10, MKS-50, U-20, S-50, S-550, W-30, JV-880, GR-1, U-110, D-110, FB-01, Kawai K1r, PGH 10+1 x 2, ME20A, ME30P, LM-3204
Band: Factorial

Previous

Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests