Doepfer Dark Energy + Yamaha YPT-200 +note pitch midi learn

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Doepfer Dark Energy + Yamaha YPT-200 +note pitch midi learn

Postby astro123 » Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:15 pm

I have a Yamaha PSR-E223 YPT-220 [digital] and a Doepfer Dark Energy and I'm new to synths. Question: I hooked up the midi out of the Yamaha to the Dark Energy's Midi In and started playing with patches. And I noticed something while doing this, no matter what key I play on the keyboard it's always the same pitch/note, no matter what. Is this always the case? For example, is there a way to get it to Play, the C scale with one of my Dark Energy Lead Patches? So far no luck and not even sure it's possible...
astro123

Advertisement:

Re: Doepfer Dark Energy + Yamaha YPT-200 +note pitch midi le

Postby Psy_Free » Sun Jul 03, 2011 12:57 pm

I assume you've done the following as stated in the User Manual :

– Select the desired MIDI channel on your MIDI device / software application. Please refer to their
respective user manuals when in doubt.
– Press the „Learn“ button on the back of Dark Energy and keep it depressed for at least one second. The
LED will start flashing, showing that Dark Energy is in „learn mode“. The delay of one second avoids
accidental use of the „learn“ mode. The flashing LED always indicates Dark Energy‘s active learn mode.
For easy access to the „learn“ button you can use a pen or a plug.
– Press the key on your keyboard with the lowest key that Dark Energy is supposed to play. This key will
set CV1 (pitch CV) to 0 Volt. This is approx. equivalent to 65 Hz / „C“, when tuning control and range
switch are both in their center position. The available range will cover five octaves above that key. The