PLEASE HELP! - ARP - Quartet

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

PLEASE HELP! - ARP - Quartet

Postby Marsy » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:15 am

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm a bass player who's been advised by my friends over on the BassChat forums that this is the place for the help I need.

So I bought an Arp - Quartet recently and it sounded great for 10 minutes.

Then when switching patches it seemed to be stuck on 'organ' sound. When I press a different patch it switches into that patch (the led for that patch lights up) but the organ led remains lit too!

The only sound I can get from the synth is when I press the organ patch and only have the 'celeste' slider up (on) if I slide up the organ slider (1 octave lower) it cuts out all sound.

I have very limited technical knowledge of analog gear, but I've had a look inside and sprayed contact cleaner on a few bits I thought could be relevant but sadly nothing has changed.

On a separate note I have also noticed that the tuning was flat, and when I turned the tuning pot the sound cuts in and out and you have to kind of gently let go of it in the right position to leave it producing sound. I believe this to be totally unrelated to the main problem.

If anyone can input any advice or suggest someone who could perform a service/repair for me that would be fantastic. Preferably somewhere reasonably local-ish to Teesside would be great. I would consider using a courier (anything to get it back up and running!) although I believe the problem I currently have could well have been done in transit with a courier!

Many thanks in advance guys,

Stephen
Marsy

Advertisement:

Re: PLEASE HELP! - ARP - Quartet

Postby rhino » Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:18 am

welcome to the board!