Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22 (solved)

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22 (solved)

Postby lisa10198 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:53 pm

My husband asked me to post this for my keyboard, please excuse me if I do not explain the question very thoroughly. I have loved my U20 until it more or less dissolved on me, between the glue and the contact strips. I have two in my garage that have bit the dust. I do use my U220 to try and resurrect the old beautiful sounds. My husband has the U220 synced up with a Yamaha SY22 (I also have a SY55), but the program numbers will not match up. For example, number 14 is piano/strings, but if you hit number 14 on the keyboard, they do not sync up correctly. Could you please tell us what we can do to fix this problem? I am sorry I am not very techhy at explaining it, but we plan on using it like this tomorrow for a job and it would be quite helpful if the numbers jived. Thank you for your help very much. Lisa (and Mark)
Last edited by lisa10198 on Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lisa10198
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:41 pm
Location: Missouri
Real name: Lisa
Gear: Roland U20, U220
Yamaha SY22, Yamaha SY55
Band: Razen Kane

Advertisement:

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby fh991586 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:30 pm

I never used a Yamaha SY22, but looking at the board it only has buttons #1 to 8 to recall patches. Therefore, the first patch on the U-220 would be equivalent to the 11 on the Yamaha, because there is no 0. To get the patch 14 on the U-220, you should try dialing 2-6 on the Yamaha.

You see, each bank on the Yamaha has 8 sounds. #1 goes from 1 to 8 [which would be 01 to 08 on the Roland], then #2 will continue from 9 to 16 on the Roland...
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby Z » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:33 pm

What you're referring to only correctly works with General MIDI (GM) instruments. All other instruments (the majority) doe not follow any specific patch numbering system.

If you want patch numbers to be the same on 2 instruments, you will need to manually save them that way.

And just an FYI, in the electronic music world, we use the typically word "sync" when referring to 2 rhythm instruments or sequencers - getting two instruments' rhythms to synchronize. Or when getting LFOs or delays times to synchronize with a rhythm.

These is also "oscillator sync" in sound synthesis, but I won't go into any detail there.
Last edited by Z on Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby lisa10198 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:34 pm

Thank you very much. When I get home from work this evening, we will sure take a look and try this. I do appreciate your help very much, thank you. :) :)

And thank you for helping me try and word things correctly. I was just hoping I could run them by the same number, and not have to switch the numbers on the U220 by pressing the button, it takes a little longer to get to where I need to go. And it is hard to see in the dark. :) I appreciate all your kind advice, thank you.
lisa10198
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:41 pm
Location: Missouri
Real name: Lisa
Gear: Roland U20, U220
Yamaha SY22, Yamaha SY55
Band: Razen Kane

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby fh991586 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:56 pm

Z wrote:What you're referring to only correctly works with General MIDI (GM) instruments. All other instruments (the majority) doe not follow any specific patch numbering system.

If you want patch numbers to be the same on 2 instruments, you will need to manually save them that way.


I know it works with a D-50 or a MicroKorg, which has also only 1 to 8 buttons. And that's not General Midi. How else to bring up a patch otherwise? The case here is merely to bring up a patch while using different interface (buttons 1 to 8 VS no digit).
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby fh991586 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:01 pm

Now I see that the U-20 also used only 1-8 numbers, like the Yamaha SY22. But the U-220 has no such buttons, and only permits up&down for patch selection (and use a regular decimal system starting at 01 for numbering the patches). Weird change, considering both should be using the same system!

The #14 patch on my U-220 isn't Piano/Strings, so I guess it's not a regular preset...
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby lisa10198 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:09 pm

I don't remember what 14 was originally, something I didn't use very often, so my husband made the strings/piano patch. I was just trying to pick a number to use as an example, because I don't explain things very well. The sounds I use most are piano, Rhodes, organ, horns and the synth sound, but yes, you have to "find" them with that U220 button and it takes a long time (when you think about finding it in between songs, it is a long time, and it is hard to see on stage). You can stack piano and strings on there and it has a beautiful sound too (my #14). I apologize for not knowing everything very well, and my husband would pat you on the back for pointing that out, as he has always ASKED me to learn more about this. He thought perhaps there was a way to sync up the numbers (sorry that is not the right way to say that) that would help. Thank you so much.
lisa10198
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:41 pm
Location: Missouri
Real name: Lisa
Gear: Roland U20, U220
Yamaha SY22, Yamaha SY55
Band: Razen Kane

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby fh991586 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:32 pm

No problem. I guess you could "sync up" the numbers if you wish, but then just put your best sounds on the first 8 slots for a quick and easy access! ;-)

Your question was only a small matter of midi communication, instead of real "sync".

Here's a quick reminder for the equivalent patches:

Yamaha = Roland
11-18 = 01-08
21-28 = 09-16
31-38 = 17-24
41-48 = 25-32
51-58 = 33-40
61-68 = 41-48
71-78 = 49-56
81-88 = 57-64


For patches 65 and up on the U-220, I'm afraid you'll have to use only its front panel...
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Sync Roland U220 with Yamaha SY22

Postby lisa10198 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:37 pm

Thank you - I have printed this out (and texted to the boss, who is off work now and might have a moment to check this, once he can put that guitar down). Your forum is great and I do so appreciate the help very much. Wishing you a wonderful weekend and keep playing! Thank you very much for helping me.
lisa10198
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:41 pm
Location: Missouri
Real name: Lisa
Gear: Roland U20, U220
Yamaha SY22, Yamaha SY55
Band: Razen Kane


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests