Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.

Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby DontGoToCollege » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:08 pm

Which is the better DCB/MIDI convertor for a Juno 60?
The Kenton or the CHD Electroservis?

Is it possible to buy the CHD in the US or is the only way to order from the Czech Republic?
I can buy a Kenton at a local shop.
DontGoToCollege
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:02 pm

Advertisement:

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby guesswho » Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:25 pm

One thing I can tell you is that the price is far better on the CHD. Sure Kenton has been in the game for awhile, but when I compared the two retrofits for my JP-4 there wasn't much different between them. With that said, the obvious choice to me, was to get the CHD and save $$$.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
guesswho

Roland JP-4/Roland JU-1 w/PG-300/Nord Modular G1/M.A.M. ADX1//Casio CZ-1000/doepfer MAQ 16/3/waldorf Pulse+/waldorf micro Q
User avatar
guesswho
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 3:21 am
Location: Ontario - CANADA

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby nathanscribe » Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:12 pm

As a Kenton user, I vote for the little blue chaps. They're very solid, easy to use, really flexible and I've never been let down by them. Kenton's customer service is excellent, and even if the price is higher than some others, I think they're worth it.
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby spookyman » Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:39 am

I just read yesterday from someone in France that is having problem with the CHD Elecktroservis DCB to Midi Convertor. He could'nt use his Juno 60 with Logic Studio. I don't know if the problem is in Logic Studio (the programm is freezing...), or with the interface. No idea.

Kenton is well known, very reliable, ok...not cheap.

If you are really on a tight budget, you also have this option :

http://www.engineersatwork.nl/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/548

From Netherland with love... :D Very compact. It simply replace the DCB connector with a Midi In and Out connector.

But you have less possibilities than the Kenton and CHD external kits (no external LFO, etc...) it's a very very basic midi kit. More or less midi ON and OFF messages. No programm change, pitch, etc...
It is much easier to be a good equipment purchaser than to be a great musician.
User avatar
spookyman
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Jura, Switzerland
Gear: cheezy machines and some cheap analog stuff

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby pflosi » Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:31 am

i soldered this little netherland midikonverter into my juno 60 and never regreted. works perfect! also with logic ;)

i dont need additional lfos cauze u have a lpf cv input, so if u have any lfo modules... same thing as kenton does

and u also can sync the arp with gate signals, so... why should i need more than midi on / off?

only cool thing would be velocity and aftertouch... but... u know

if u wanna spend as much $ on ur dcb-midi interface as for the juno, go for the kenton. im sure it works perfect. but the engineersatwork thingie is really nice, the contact is friendly and its no problem to solder that thing into ur juno.
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby hyphen nation » Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:41 pm

the one from Mungo looks awesome, and easy...I emailed the guy who is "mungo" and it sounds like it is made for almost any Roland...i am going to get one for My Juno 6 actually...

http://home.netspeed.com.au/aistorm/midiretrofits.html
User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Location: sunny northwest
Gear: boxes that make noises

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby guesswho » Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:21 pm

hyphen nation wrote:asy...I emailed the guy who is "mungo" and it sounds like it is made for almost any Roland...
http://home.netspeed.com.au/aistorm/midiretrofits.html


Did he get back to you with a price?
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
guesswho

Roland JP-4/Roland JU-1 w/PG-300/Nord Modular G1/M.A.M. ADX1//Casio CZ-1000/doepfer MAQ 16/3/waldorf Pulse+/waldorf micro Q
User avatar
guesswho
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 3:21 am
Location: Ontario - CANADA

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby hyphen nation » Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:42 am

guesswho wrote:
hyphen nation wrote:asy...I emailed the guy who is "mungo" and it sounds like it is made for almost any Roland...
http://home.netspeed.com.au/aistorm/midiretrofits.html


Did he get back to you with a price?


I had been emailing w/ him, then my son was born...so I have been fairly offline for a while. When I was originally looking for it, I thought it was on their website [doesn't appear to be there now] but for some reason, and I can be VERY confused, but I think it was around $125...like I said I could be mistaken...
User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Location: sunny northwest
Gear: boxes that make noises

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby haaplaj » Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:29 pm

I'v been using CHD's DCB module for Juno60 a while.

It's cheap and versatile.
Sometimes there is needs to reboot the Juno for stuck notes.
I dont know are there such issues on other converters.
Rhythm turns group of sounds in to music.
http://www.mikseri.net/haaplaj
User avatar
haaplaj
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 6:44 pm
Location: Finland (Tre)
Gear: Juno 60, Fantom S, TG 77, JD 990, JX 8P.

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby minime123 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:00 pm

we have a chd polysix midi retrofit.
the advertisement says:

MIDI implementation - receive only:

Mote On / Off (0~127)
CC 16 - Key Shift parameter setting (0~127)
CC 17 - Key Priority parameter setting (0~127)
CC 18 - Pitch Wheel Range parameter setting (0~127)
CC 19 - Arpg Clock Rate parameter setting (0~127)
CC 64 - Hold
CC 120 - ASO
CC 121 - RAC
CC 123 - ANO
Pitch Wheel (0~16383)
System Clock
System Exclusive - setting of all parameters and selection of MIDI channel (1~16 / OMNI)

this part: "System Exclusive - setting of all parameters and selection of MIDI channel (1~16 / OMNI)" suggested to me that ALL parameters could be set by sysex but, unless i read the manual wrong, only a very limited set of control functions could be changed via sysex (probably the things above it in the list above, i dont recall exactly). it would have been much nicer to be able to backup all polysix sounds via midi.

otherwise, the installation was very fast and easy for our tech (hes got tons of experience with retrofits) and i thought is was a nice little cost effective kit. i was somewhat surprised that, while it received pitchbend, the pitchbend was stepped, but i think our tech said there was no way around this because of how the p6 was designed. in the end, the stepped bend was something i thought was an interesting feature, kind of like on a trumpet or the stepped bend on some physical modelling instruments that emulate brass instruments. thats the only one we tried so far but we're definitely open to trying others since theyre quite cost effective. their communication was good too. we'll probably buy more of the p6 retrofits soon. if anyones interested in a p6 with this midi kit installed, email me privately.
VINTAGE SYNTH DEALER
- Buy / Sell / Trade
- We Buy Broken Gear & Parts Too...
- Huge Selection, Dependable Service
- http://www.123synthland.com (redirects)
User avatar
minime123
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby minime123 » Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:08 pm

the mungo page:

http://home.netspeed.com.au/aistorm/midiretrofits.html

looks like a preliminary thing. it doesnt seem they actually have anything available yet.

there was supposedly a cheap arp string ensemble midi kit someone was going to put out as well as a pro-one CPU replacement where there was some kind of website but they never appeared to make / deliver any product.

as for kenton, when i first looked into kenton kits back in the mid 90s, they were very expensive relative to the value of the instruments they were for, and that alone turned me off to kenton. however, its been a long time and many instruments are now worth considerably more, so it may be a good time for me to reevaluate, if theyre still offering retrofits. i imagine that if the kenton kits control more parameters, as im pretty sure they generally do, installation will probably be more involved.
VINTAGE SYNTH DEALER
- Buy / Sell / Trade
- We Buy Broken Gear & Parts Too...
- Huge Selection, Dependable Service
- http://www.123synthland.com (redirects)
User avatar
minime123
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby hyphen nation » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:40 am

minime123 wrote:the mungo page:

http://home.netspeed.com.au/aistorm/midiretrofits.html

looks like a preliminary thing. it doesnt seem they actually have anything available yet.


No, at least in August, it was for real...I was all set to order one then, but it was close to the end of my wife's pregnancy, and it kinda fell off my radar...I just re-emailed him again a few days ago when this thread popped back up and reminded me. I'll post anything when I hear.

As far as the device goes, this is from an email w/ Mungo when I asked about Juno 6 compatibility, usually harder to find than for the 60:

"This works on most roland synthesisers, and was originally designed for the Juno 6."
User avatar
hyphen nation
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:43 am
Location: sunny northwest
Gear: boxes that make noises

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby pflosi » Tue Oct 28, 2008 7:38 pm

I'v been using CHD's DCB module for Juno60 a while.

It's cheap and versatile.
Sometimes there is needs to reboot the Juno for stuck notes.
I dont know are there such issues on other converters.


sometimes this happens with the engineersatwork thing too....
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: Juno 60 MIDI: Kenton vs. CHD Elecktroservis?

Postby pflosi » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:28 am

ok that particular mistake just ruins one track

im recording again and again and it will happen again

anyone any idea how this bug is being caused? since it appears on 2 interfaces, it could be a midi-dcb problem...
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...


Return to Synth Shootouts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest