Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby T-John » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:16 pm

Greetings VSE'ers,


I've been trying to load the factory patches onto my DK600, but have so far had no success doing so. I sent Spav a PM with some questions and he graciously gave me the following answer and suggested we make this exchange public in case anyone else is in the same situation. So here goes:


hi Mathias

The midi is the easiest way to go. The speed of the midi data transfer should be 31.25Kbs this should be standard for all midi interfaces. The sysex file you have downloaded is just a binary of the data you need to send, there is no midiox specific data in this file.

Anything that can send a binary file to your midi port should work. I may try to get this into a .mid for you then you should be able to import into DP5 and play it back as a midi file. When the sysex is loading you should see the display digits count up as each patch loads. You may need to add a delay between each sysex block, midiox will allow this I assume there are mac programs thatc an do the same.

I assume you have the . wav I posted a link to, you may want to view it in DP, I could not see any obvious dropouts. Another trick is to add an EQ to the output and filter the top and bottom leaving just the mid range or just run some level normalising. I am fairly sure everything was set to 0dB on my system when it worked, just try cranking the volume up on your system without any clipping.

If you have access to some new EPROMs and a programmer I will be releasing a new version of the firmware for the DK600 and Opera 6 (mkIII). This will make sending sysex data to the machine a lot easier, it also has a midi activity inidicator so you can see if data is arriving at the synth.

Please transfer your PM and this data into a forum post then the info is there for all. Let me know how you get on.

Spav
Gear: Roland JP-4, Siel DK600, Yamaha CS-80
User avatar
T-John
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Advertisement:

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby T-John » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:36 pm

Hi Spav,


So far my DK600 is being as stubborn as ever. Audio-wise I cut some hi's and lo's with the EQ and normalized the .wav file in DP5, but she is still not accepting it. Just to make sure, I'm doing it correctly, I run a mono cable from the 828 designated output to the "from" input on the DK600, flip the tape switch on the back and set interfaces to int/from?

Is there a quick way of "resetting" her to receive audio in other than flipping the switch on the back, btw? I've been flipping that switch maybe a thousand times now already and my small spaced bedroom/studio requires a lot of hustle and bustle to get to it.

MIDI-wise I've tried transmitting with SysEx Librarian at 31.25 and with pauses between messages at 128-500 milisec. I know that MIDI info is being transmitted by the MIDI indicator lighting up on the 828, but the DK600 seems completely oblivious. She does receive note on/off information though, so I think the MIDI in-port must be undamaged. Again, just to make sure I'm doing this correctly, after power-up I set interfaces to ext/MIDI and press 95 [enter] before transmitting the sysex?

Thank you for your patience, with your help I hope to be playing patch no. 84 "Metal Guitar" at full volume until the neighbors call the cops and/or pull out their bandanas and whitewashed jeans...
Gear: Roland JP-4, Siel DK600, Yamaha CS-80
User avatar
T-John
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby Spav » Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:27 pm

One thing on using a composer package make sure you are using a mono channel and routing to the out correctly. I agree it would help if there was some indication that the synth is accepting input.

I think the order for receiving sysex is 95(enter) then set the midi mode to ext.

I am assuming the DK600 requires the same sysex manufacturers ID and product as the Opera 6, if you can capture a sysex dump from the DK600 and show the first few bytes F0 21 xx where xx is the product ID, if it is different for the DK 600 I will hack the sysex. I did post a link to the manual in your other thread. you must make sure that you enable write before you send the sysex to the DK600.

I will have a look at making the .mid file when I get some time. I must also get round to releasing the new firmware as this supports bulk sysex dump.
Kurzweil K2500X +KDFX & K2500RS +KDFX | Korg Triton Pro & Triton Rack | Siel Opera6 & Expander | Boss BX-60 | Tascam US-1641 | Edirol UM550 | Sonar 8.5 Producer | Stageline PPA-100 | Roland KC350 & KC300
http://www.keyparts.co.uk
User avatar
Spav
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: Wiltshire, England
Gear: Live Rig: | Kurzweil K2500 +KDFX | Korg Trition Classic | Roland KC550 |
Band: From Dusk 'til Dawn

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby Spav » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:48 pm

Tape loading instructions:
  1. Set Tape Switch on the rear to On
  2. Start tape playing
  3. Press the Enter button
  4. If from LED goes out load completed without error
  5. Set Tape switch on the rear to Off
Kurzweil K2500X +KDFX & K2500RS +KDFX | Korg Triton Pro & Triton Rack | Siel Opera6 & Expander | Boss BX-60 | Tascam US-1641 | Edirol UM550 | Sonar 8.5 Producer | Stageline PPA-100 | Roland KC350 & KC300
http://www.keyparts.co.uk
User avatar
Spav
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: Wiltshire, England
Gear: Live Rig: | Kurzweil K2500 +KDFX | Korg Trition Classic | Roland KC550 |
Band: From Dusk 'til Dawn

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby T-John » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:52 pm

Hello again Spav,

I checked out the link you sent me and it had a high quality copy of the manual, thanks a million! As for my DK600 It still refuses to receive audio or MIDI, but using the freeware program MIDI Monitor I managed to capture the following sysex message:

00 F0 21 01 04 09 02 0E 06 01 01 0D 08 09 06 0B 0A | ! |
10 08 05 0C 0F 0C 08 04 04 07 01 00 0F 02 08 01 0D | |
20 08 0E 00 00 03 03 0A 0D 01 0F 00 0B F7 | |

Spav wrote:One thing on using a composer package make sure you are using a mono channel and routing to the out correctly. I agree it would help if there was some indication that the synth is accepting input.

I think the order for receiving sysex is 95(enter) then set the midi mode to ext.

I am assuming the DK600 requires the same sysex manufacturers ID and product as the Opera 6, if you can capture a sysex dump from the DK600 and show the first few bytes F0 21 xx where xx is the product ID, if it is different for the DK 600 I will hack the sysex. I did post a link to the manual in your other thread. you must make sure that you enable write before you send the sysex to the DK600.

I will have a look at making the .mid file when I get some time. I must also get round to releasing the new firmware as this supports bulk sysex dump.


When you say enable write, you mean pressing 95 [enter}, correct? Should I also press the red record button while Ext/MIDI is on? The only reaction I've gotten so far is when I've pressed 95[enter], enabled int/from and pressed record, which makes both the display and the enter button blink. If I then transmit the opera6 file using Sysex Librarian it stops blinking and reverts to 00, but it does not count upwards from there...

I don't have access to EPROMS or a programmer, unfortunately (nor would I know much about using them, if I did..), but maybe it would be a good investment. Some new and improved firmware from you would definitely be ace!
Gear: Roland JP-4, Siel DK600, Yamaha CS-80
User avatar
T-John
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby Spav » Fri Apr 24, 2009 11:39 pm

I think I know what is going wrong :)

The only reaction I've gotten so far is when I've pressed 95[enter], enabled int/from and pressed record, which makes both the display and the enter button blink. If I then transmit the opera6 file using Sysex Librarian it stops blinking and reverts to 00, but it does not count upwards from there...


The correct sequence for loading should be:
  1. 95(enter)
  2. Midi Ext
  3. Send Midi data from librarian

The sysex file you are sending to the DK600 is infact a collection of small sysex files. Each small sysex block has a midi control sequence sent before the sysex, B0 57 7F. I suspect the software you are using to send the file is filtering out the control sequences. The control sequence sent before each sysex block is equivalent to pressing the RECORD on the receiving unit.

Here is the hex for the first two programs in the sysex file, note the control sequence before the F0:

B0577F
F021010000020505080207070E0D0B020E0F07050000000B010A0D0F0B05040800000A070100000005020000F7
B0577F
F021010105020D05010307070E030E060706090A0C0F0400080A0D0F09050A0A00000F060603050607020202F7

Using your midi monitor check that the control sequence is being sent by your librarian application.

One additional warning is the control message has a channel number, implied in the first byte, you must ensure that if you have turned OMNI mode off (used program 96 prior to attempting the load) you have the correct midi channel 96(enter) 00(enter)

Hope this helps.
Last edited by Spav on Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kurzweil K2500X +KDFX & K2500RS +KDFX | Korg Triton Pro & Triton Rack | Siel Opera6 & Expander | Boss BX-60 | Tascam US-1641 | Edirol UM550 | Sonar 8.5 Producer | Stageline PPA-100 | Roland KC350 & KC300
http://www.keyparts.co.uk
User avatar
Spav
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: Wiltshire, England
Gear: Live Rig: | Kurzweil K2500 +KDFX | Korg Trition Classic | Roland KC550 |
Band: From Dusk 'til Dawn

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby T-John » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:06 pm

I don't know how you worked it out Spav, but you're a genius! This is what MIDI Monitor registers when I transmit the sysex message starting with patch #1, and as you correctly guessed there is no control sequence first.


00 F0 21 01 00 00 02 05 05 08 02 07 07 0E 0D 0B 02 | ! |
10 0E 0F 07 05 00 00 00 0B 01 0A 0D 0F 0B 05 04 08 | |
20 00 00 0A 07 01 00 00 00 05 02 00 00 F7 | |


Now I just need to find a Mac program that will transmit the complete sequence (strange that Sysex Librarian ignores that initial message, no?) Anybody got any ideas about what program to use? I googled it and beyond Sysex Librarian I only found MIDIPipe and some karaoke players and they don't seem to do the trick. Could I potentially transmit this with either DP5 or Logic 8, or would it then need to be a .mid file?
Gear: Roland JP-4, Siel DK600, Yamaha CS-80
User avatar
T-John
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Loading factory patches for the Siel DK600/Opera6?Look here:

Postby T-John » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:09 pm

It worked!

I found program called AudioFinder and it did the job nicely. Thanks a million Spav, helpful people like you make this forum an invaluable resource. I'll be posting some musical results (prominently featuring Metal Guitar #84?) as soon as they're done.
Gear: Roland JP-4, Siel DK600, Yamaha CS-80
User avatar
T-John
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests