Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby gunark » Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:57 pm

Hello,

Seeing as VP9000s are relatively cheap but still unique in their elastic sampling (in hardware anyway), has anyone tried using one to sample their monos to be able to play them in a form of polyphony? I know you can multisample it in a regular sampler but I was curious if anyone has done it this way, and did it sound any good?

Thanks!
gunark
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:08 am
Gear: Roland: Alpha Juno 1, HS-60, JX-3P
Yamaha: CS01, AN1x, TX81Z
SCI Pro One
DSI: Tetr4, Mopho Keyboard
Casio HT-700
Vermona DRM Mk. III
Jen SX1000
Band: British Airwaves

Advertisement:

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:38 am

gunark wrote:Seeing as VP9000s are relatively cheap but still unique in their elastic sampling (in hardware anyway)

Actually all three V-Synths have hardware elastic sampling too.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9136
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby gunark » Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:58 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
gunark wrote:Seeing as VP9000s are relatively cheap but still unique in their elastic sampling (in hardware anyway)

Actually all three V-Synths have hardware elastic sampling too.


Sadly though they don't turn up for £100 or so :(
gunark
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:08 am
Gear: Roland: Alpha Juno 1, HS-60, JX-3P
Yamaha: CS01, AN1x, TX81Z
SCI Pro One
DSI: Tetr4, Mopho Keyboard
Casio HT-700
Vermona DRM Mk. III
Jen SX1000
Band: British Airwaves

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:06 am

I guess 'relatively cheap' is relative. ;)
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9136
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby gunark » Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:33 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:I guess 'relatively cheap' is relative. ;)

Ah I thought I put the price on! Getting old...
gunark
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:08 am
Gear: Roland: Alpha Juno 1, HS-60, JX-3P
Yamaha: CS01, AN1x, TX81Z
SCI Pro One
DSI: Tetr4, Mopho Keyboard
Casio HT-700
Vermona DRM Mk. III
Jen SX1000
Band: British Airwaves

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby Nannerfan » Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:39 am

As for the original question. It totally works for that. Too bad when I had mine for many years,.. I never did that much. I was too easily distracted by how you could take any sort of speech/dialogue sample.. and put it in a totally different context. Like turning a bold statement into a curious question.

Another great use for it is percussive sounds... like sampling a bottle and all across the keyboard you have a great mallet style sound.

Very fun.
It does sound very very digital when you push it too far (time,pitch,shuffle).. but sometimes in a pleasing way... sometime not,.. but usually when it sounds bad it's because you prolly had a bad idea in the first place.

And it doesn't have a filter, which can be annoying,.. but it's more of a finishing touch/random inspiration machine. Also, there is a filter in the effects section. The analog/space delays btw are amazing. I prefer it over the RE-20 and the RE-201. Hoping the Boss VF-1 I recently purchased to replace it.. sounds as good.
User avatar
Nannerfan
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:00 pm
Gear: Akai AX-60, AX-80, S612
Arturia Microbrute
Roland D-550, TR-8
Yamaha QY700, SU700, TX81Z

Re: Roland VP9000 to make those monos turn poly?

Postby adekoyote » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:38 pm

*call for correction* the VP9000 does seem to have a filter, but it takes place as one an MFX effect "resonant filter" :ugeek:

another thing that I find of interest on the VP9000 is that it seems to have more I/O than the VARios.

(I am just looking over the manual)
adekoyote
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:33 pm
Gear: YAMAHA PSR460, ROLAND MC808, EDIROL, APC20, Emu Proteus 2500 and Yamaha RS7000, Yamaha Su700, Roland VP9000, Yamaha AW4416, Desktop Evolver
Band: The Ghostz of More


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests