Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby White » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:42 am

I recall reading somewhere that the Waldorf Micro Q has no battery, is this true? If so, how does it work?:?
Duncan J. White + quite a few synths
http://www.myspace.com/stickman76590059
White
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:22 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK
Gear: Quite a few synths

Advertisement:

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby Psy_Free » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:19 am

Flash memory ?
"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
-----------------------------------------------------------
Bandcamp : http://sachagibsonklangzeit.bandcamp.com/
Soundcloud : http://soundcloud.com/psy_free
User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: UK
Gear: Some synths, guitars, effects & circuit bent bongos
Band: Klangzeit

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby Roby31 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:51 pm

Yes, there's no battery in the uQ. It has some kind of ROM memory (4 chips) that maintains its status like flash memory.
Sorry for my unintentional killing of the English language. I'm Italian, you know :) - "What would Jexus do?" - Stew-diah
User avatar
Roby31
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Biella, Italy
Real name: Roberto
Gear: Waldorf Micro Q (Yellow)
Access Virus TI 2 Desktop
Casio VL-1

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby tim gueguen » Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:22 pm

How common are memory batteries in late model synths?
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound
User avatar
tim gueguen
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby Mino » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:58 pm

I believe rare or not at all. Flash memory took off after late 90s.
Mino
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Istanbul
Gear: Waldorf Q&XT
Nord Lead 2x
Roland V-Synth /w VC-1

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby White » Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:09 pm

Is it the same for the Access Virus Classic then?
Duncan J. White + quite a few synths
http://www.myspace.com/stickman76590059
White
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:22 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK
Gear: Quite a few synths

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:44 pm

A quick google search shows that a virus Ti even has a battery.
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Waldorf Micro Q has no battery?

Postby Mino » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 am

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/electron ... -page.html

This link has battery info on synths.
Mino
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:25 am
Location: Istanbul
Gear: Waldorf Q&XT
Nord Lead 2x
Roland V-Synth /w VC-1


Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AlexL and 7 guests