KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby arminp » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:11 pm

Hey guys,

I recently bought a KORG MS10, which I was looking for for a really long time! I can really recommend it to anyone looking for an analog synth..
However, I encountered a small problem.. Since the synth is monophonic, I only hear the left channel when I plug my normal headphones into the "signal out" jack.. It obviously works normally when I plug it into an amp or a mixer..

Is there a way to "double" the signal in order to be able to listen to what I play with normal stereo headphones? I'd love to take the synth to some places where there is no mixer around just to jam a bit..


Thanks a lot in advance,
Armin
arminp
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:05 pm

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby V301H » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:54 pm

You might see if a local music or electronics store has a Stereo-to-Mono adapter plug something like this:

http://www.showmecables.com/product/1-4 ... 4AodTwq3Cw
Prophet 5 rev.2, Pro-One, Juno 60, Jupiter 6, Matrix 12, OB8, MS20, Poly 800, CS70M, DX-7, CP35, Casio PX-5S, Hammond C3/M102, Vox Continental/Super Continental, Gibson G101, Farfisa Compact, RMI 300A, Pianet N, Combo Pianet, S770, S760, S50
User avatar
V301H
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:58 am
Location: New Jersey
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby pflosi » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:16 pm

arminp wrote:Since the synth is monophonic, I only hear the left channel when I plug my normal headphones into the "signal out" jack...


No, since the synth is monophonic, you only can play one note at once. Since the synth has no headphone output, you only hear the left channel when you plug your normal headphones into the "signal out" jack... ;)
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby arminp » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:23 pm

No, since the synth is monophonic, you only can play one note at once. Since the synth has no headphone output, you only hear the left channel when you plug your normal headphones into the "signal out" jack...


Thanks for rectifying :)
I went to a shop today to ask for that kind of cable or adapter, but they said it wouldn't be such a good idea as there is some problem with the headphones impedance.. They said it might destroy the synth from the inside or something, I didn't quite get what they meant..

I guess I'll have to stick to my mixer then..
arminp
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:05 pm

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby madtheory » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:39 pm

You won't destroy anything. But the "signal out" socket is not for headphones, it's for the line input of a mixer or similar. If it was for headphones it would say "headphones". :P But you've discovered that by trial and error now, so it's all good.

Nice synth!!
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 4273
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Novation KSR, PT12, VCZ, Redmatica, MIDIQuest, Casio FZ, SK5, Komplete, M1, Theremin, Digi Vocalist, Quadravrb+, Kaoss Pad, JV, SPD, Cyclone, Drummer.
Band: madtheory

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby rhino » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:07 pm

One possible solution might be one of those tiny headphone amps made for electric guitar practice. I'll edit this post when I find a link.

Here is one version:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/amPlugAC30
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius
User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2568
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: kentucky hills
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby fh991586 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:15 am

But still, what's the real problem with using an signal output if there is not headphone output?
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 903
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby Stab Frenzy » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:13 am

fh991586 wrote:But still, what's the real problem with using an signal output if there is not headphone output?

For a start, you only get signal to the left side of the headphones...
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9678
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby Don T » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:19 am

fh991586 wrote:But still, what's the real problem with using an signal output if there is not headphone output?


Usually there is not enough power to drive the headphones, at least not at a useable level. By looking at the MS-10 service manual, if you are able to hear anything through your headphones, it's probably weak, or the headphones are amazingly sensitive.
Don Taylor

Master of no trades, practitioner of many.
(Basically, this means I know just enough about a lot of things to get myself in real trouble)
Don T
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Marietta, GA
Real name: Don
Gear: Roland SH-09, Korg Polysix, Moog Rogue, Realistic MG-1, Paia Fatman, Korg Monotron, and of course, my main instrument: Trumpet!

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby fh991586 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:44 pm

When I test a synth before buying it, and there is no amp available, I check the signal output(s) with my cheap walkman headphones, and I can pick up the sound. It's not enough nor fun to play long like this, but it's still a possibility...

Just tell me there is no possible damage to the synth itself (why could there be anyway?), and the rest is irrelevant to me.
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 903
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby rhino » Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:42 am

Looking at the MS-10 schematic, the output is single ended, capacitor coupled. There is no logical way you could hurt the synth by using a mono to stereo adaptor on your headphones. You will have a rather low level signal, and loose much of the bass response due to the mismatch, but no damage.

Most synths in the past 20 years have a stereo headphone jack (with built-in amps to boost the level)
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius
User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2568
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: kentucky hills
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby Sexor » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:17 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
fh991586 wrote:But still, what's the real problem with using an signal output if there is not headphone output?

For a start, you only get signal to the left side of the headphones...


Maybe you should try this then:
Same link
Monkey business since 2007!
User avatar
Sexor
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:01 pm
Location: IJsland
Gear: Prophet6, Jupiter-7, MS25, Juno-50, TR-303, Rhodes 63

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby Projectile » Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:54 am

The guys at the shop are idiots. You won't hurt the synth by using a mono to stereo adapter and plugging headphones into the line out. Though, it will sound pretty crappy without a headphone amp. I would recommend getting one of those cheap little battery powered headphone amps to boost the signal and give you the right output impedance. That should do the trick.
Projectile
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:02 am

Re: KORG MS10 with stereo headphones

Postby fh991586 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:18 pm

That's what I thought. Thanks for the precision.
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE1, M-OC1, M-BD1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 903
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: French Canada
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.
TherapSid


Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 11 guests