Question for Akai S5000 / S6000 users

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Question for Akai S5000 / S6000 users

Postby gcoudert » Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:28 am

Hi!

I recently acquired an S5000 to replace my S1000 an S2800i. I have maxed out the RAM and am about to get the FX board and possibly the voice expansion board too. I was considering getting the USB board but I have two questions:

1. Is the S5000's USB really as buggy as people claim?
2. Is it possible to connect the sampler to an external USB HD or, as I suspect, is the board only designed to connect the sampler to a PC/Mac for sample and program editing?
3. If so, could the S5000 access programs, multis and samples via from a USB HD connected to the PC?

Thanks! I am so happy with that S5000 sampler that I am considering getting rid of the E-mu E4K!

Gilles
Gilles C.
User avatar
gcoudert
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Location: Dunstable, UK
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland JP-50, R8, JV1080 + Orchestral & Vintage Synth cards, Akai S5000, CME UF8, Fender Telecaster, Korg AX3000G.

Advertisement:

Re: Question for Akai S5000 / S6000 users

Postby vinceriley » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:07 pm

Gilles,
I realize that it has been over a year, but for the sake of sharing info:
1. I found that the usb board is very stable under windows xp sp3, when using either aksys 1.7 or 2.6 with OS 2.14. There may be an occasional hiccup when moving large amounts of data via usb to external or internal drives, but it is nothing to be concerned with.. easily recoverable. The usb board for the Akai S5k/S6k samplers is a must.

2. the usb board ( IB-S56) is only for transferring samples to and from a computer and cannot be used for external media.

3. not possible.

Vince
vinceriley
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:48 pm


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest