Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby celebutante » Tue May 14, 2013 7:25 pm

Image

Can't believe I'm the first to post this. As mentioned on FB where I saw it, it's likely fake- six LFO's and six filters seems a little odd unless it's something like a Sequential Six-Trak where it's a six mono multitimbral deal. It looks a little basic and hacky. But no one thought the MS20 mini and Volca boxes were real either, right? Discuss! 8-)
synthesizers.com modular • Sequential Prophet-5 • Roland Jupiter-4 • Korg Delta • Tom Oberheim SEM prototype • Ensoniq SQ-80 • Chickering seven-foot grand •

http://www.mitchellsigman.com
http://www.celebusite.com
http://www.youtube.com/celebutante
User avatar
celebutante
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 7:57 am
Location: Las Vegas

Advertisement:

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Sir Ruff » Tue May 14, 2013 7:28 pm

celebutante wrote:Can't believe I'm the first to post this.


It's clearly a fake mock-up, so not much to get excited about.
Do you even post on vse bro?
User avatar
Sir Ruff
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3340
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Synthinnati
Gear: Two persimmon modulators and a frequency adjudicator.
Band: Ruff in the jungle

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Miles Powerhouse » Tue May 14, 2013 8:17 pm

After what happened with the KingKorg, I have no idea what to believe.
Miles Powerhouse
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:21 pm
Band: K.O.R.P.S

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Walter Ego » Tue May 14, 2013 8:50 pm

It certainly could be done, but I have a hard time believing in that layout/architecture. It looks lifted directly from the face of the original monotron. If it was a hypothetical mockup or something, maybe...it seems pretty obvious its not physically real. But it certainly is possible. Whoever put that together ain't the most creative. What about any other features/mod routing?

Also, the LFO switcher still says "Standby" as one of the options. In monotron speak, that means "OFF". So, there are 6 on/off switches?
Walter Ego
User avatar
Walter Ego
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:17 pm
Location: Near Boston
Gear: A lot more gear than I would have if I wasn't a member of this forum...
Band: 12"VS

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Bitexion » Tue May 14, 2013 9:23 pm

It's just a copy-pasted mashup picture. Probably someone wants a synth like that and made it in photoshop.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3486
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Em Pe Ge » Tue May 14, 2013 11:05 pm

yup.. totally fake.
User avatar
Em Pe Ge
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Ohio
Gear: Akai MPC1000, Moog Slim Phatty, Roland Alpha Juno 1, Animoog (via iRig midi), Ableton Live, Reason.

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Wed May 15, 2013 2:05 am

celebutante wrote:Can't believe I'm the first to post this.
...
It looks a little basic and hacky. But no one thought the MS20 mini and Volca boxes were real either, right? Discuss! 8-)

Go back to the start of the MS-20 mini thread and have a read of it again.

I can't believe anybody posted this at all, I'd be pretty embarrassed to have that particular honour. :lol: Cutting and pasting random bits of Korg things onto a P08 and not even bothering to keep the shading the same on the wood sides? Looks like it was done by someone using photoshop for the first time.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9025
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby piRoN » Wed May 15, 2013 2:34 am

I especially like the fact that it uses the same knobs as the original Monotron - which going by their size in the picture means that each of the keys is around 6mm wide.

Presumably it comes with some sort of key-pressing stylus to play it.
Ensoniq EPS-m | Elby Designs ASM-2 | DSI Evolver | Yamaha TQ5 | Akai S3000XL | Akai X7000 | Novation KS-4 | SCI Prophet 2000 | Kawai K1m | Roland S-50 | Roland D-10 | Roland MKS-7 | Roland TR-606 | Yamaha RX11
User avatar
piRoN
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 7:04 am
Location: The crotch of The Lucky Country
Gear: A fair bit.

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby madmarkmagee » Wed May 15, 2013 1:31 pm

piRoN wrote:I especially like the fact that it uses the same knobs as the original Monotron - which going by their size in the picture means that each of the keys is around 6mm wide.

Presumably it comes with some sort of key-pressing stylus to play it.



:lol:
User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Location: Sydney
Gear: Korg R3
ESQ-1
Tetra
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Hybrid88 » Wed May 15, 2013 5:30 pm

I'd love to know who would actually believe this - I mean is Korg really going to release yet another piece of gear so soon after the MS and Voca's? Especially considering the already apparent catch up on the MS and the fact the Volca's aren't even in shops yet.

I mean seriously, that sounds feasible? :lol:
Last edited by Hybrid88 on Wed May 15, 2013 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Location: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia.
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff.

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Re-Member » Wed May 15, 2013 5:31 pm

It's fake. I remember seeing this exact image pop up on another forum about a year ago.
User avatar
Re-Member
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:44 pm
Location: PDX

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Jabberwalky » Wed May 15, 2013 6:24 pm

Ha! Prett dodgy. I remember when the mopho was coming out, I quickly photoshopped a shitty mopho keys. Of course the image circulated around and a lot of people believed it. Image
User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: Dx7|ProOne|9700s|Ms20m|700s|
Bs2|P61|An1x|Dx21|Emax2|Ds8
Band: Variar, Model Human

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Blue Monster 65 » Wed May 15, 2013 8:08 pm

Holy cow! Is that the Mopho keys mark II? :lol:
Muhahahahahahahahaha!
User avatar
Blue Monster 65
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:19 am
Location: down in the lab ...

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby Jabberwalky » Wed May 15, 2013 10:20 pm

It certainly is! They've decided to add the push it button for the mark 2. It will function as a random patch generator.
User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: Dx7|ProOne|9700s|Ms20m|700s|
Bs2|P61|An1x|Dx21|Emax2|Ds8
Band: Variar, Model Human

Re: Korg Monotron 6? Huh?!?

Postby zoomtheline » Wed May 15, 2013 10:51 pm

The actual mopho keyboard (mk1 ha) had the push it anyway. Although if it acted as a random patch generator I would have maybe thought twice about getting rid of it.
zoomtheline
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:36 pm

Next

Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests