Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby Bitexion » Sat May 18, 2013 3:27 pm

He just needed to adjust the envelopes a bit to create more comparable sounds.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3585
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Advertisement:

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby Naive Teen Idol » Sat May 18, 2013 3:56 pm

Yeah, I don't think this is some fundamental flaw -- he just probably set them identically by sight not sound.
Naive Teen Idol
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:14 am
Gear: Roland Jupiter 6, Studio Electronics MIDIMini, DSI Evolver, Linn LM-2 Linndrum, Roland TR-77, Roland GR-300, Novation Remote SL 25

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby Bitexion » Sat May 18, 2013 5:39 pm

The filter cutoff closes further on all the pad sounds on the JP8, so it sounds "warmer". That's a user error, not the synth's fault.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3585
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby briandc » Sun May 19, 2013 7:34 am

Bitexion wrote:The filter cutoff closes further on all the pad sounds on the JP8, so it sounds "warmer". That's a user error, not the synth's fault.


So, if the envelopes had been adjusted correctly, there wouldn't be any noticeable difference between the two?
Have your PC your way: use linux!
amSynth.com
amSynth on Soundcloud
User avatar
briandc
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:38 am
Real name: brian
Gear: 2 Midi controllers and anything linux! :)

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby Naive Teen Idol » Sun May 19, 2013 1:18 pm

Not on those sounds. Both synths are perfectly capable of making them.
Naive Teen Idol
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:14 am
Gear: Roland Jupiter 6, Studio Electronics MIDIMini, DSI Evolver, Linn LM-2 Linndrum, Roland TR-77, Roland GR-300, Novation Remote SL 25

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby briandc » Sun May 19, 2013 11:15 pm

I think it would be interesting to make a thread where a patch is described, so people can try it on their synths and make a demo, then compare the demos.
For example, it could start with just a basic saw/sine/square wave and a few basic filter/amp parameters. Then go from there.
If anyone's interested let me know... it might be fun (and educational).

brian
Have your PC your way: use linux!
amSynth.com
amSynth on Soundcloud
User avatar
briandc
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:38 am
Real name: brian
Gear: 2 Midi controllers and anything linux! :)

Re: Jupiter 8 versus Jupiter 6 ?

Postby shaft9000 » Tue May 21, 2013 12:27 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
shaft9000 wrote:does the JP-6 have separate XLR outs for U/L section like the 8 does?
it's one seriously LOUD set of synth outputs - set trim on your mixer channel to zero and it still clobbers the preamp input if the JP-8's volume knob is past 12 o'clock

Are you running the XLRs into the mic pres on your mixer or the line ins? If the former, that's where your problem's coming from.


i use it most with a ZED r16.

zero trim on r16 is -14dB, and 0dB is @ 11 o'clock
...i presume it's this way because there's no selectable hi/lo Z switch anywhere, something i'm sad to have overlooked when i bought it
it's rather odd that a mid-level mixer doesn't accommodate discrepancies between connectors and levels at different impedances in 2010+. both my mackie and yamaha at least have hi/lo z switch on most inputs... and this damned mixer has other issues w/ the digital side etc.

anyway... the Joy of Cabling - level and impedance matching (stuff i forget about when inspired) :geek:
and i'm really needing an electrician/EE to come over and give the studio an optomization check because i'm making do with UPCs in 1940s buildings with who-knows-what wiring and it's ...still chaotic at times, and i'm not certain it hasn't caused a module or two to fail.
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies
User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Real name: Dave
Gear: ZF synchromesh 6-speed manual transmission

Previous

Return to Synth Shootouts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests