Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby Scories » Sun Jul 07, 2013 1:16 pm

Hello,

I'm living in Canada and I'll be flying to France next week. There's someone in France who has shown interest in my Korg Polysix and I'd be interested to bring it in with me to Europe in order to sell him the synth.

Now I'm wondering if my Polysix will play fine in Europe with the voltage & frequency standards.
Is there a difference between synths used in America and synths used in Europe in terms of voltage?
My Polysix seems to be suited for 60Hz current.

Thank you.


Canadian standards : 120V/60Hz
French standards : 230V/50Hz
Scories
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Québec - CANADA
Gear: Micromoog, JX-3P, Minikorg 700, Z1

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby Bitexion » Sun Jul 07, 2013 1:45 pm

Yeah, but there are readily available voltage converters in any store that sells electronics. Usually on airports aswell.
And they're cheap. Some synths have a powersupply that can switch between 120 and 230v with a little red switch on the back.

Also the plug is probably different, in Europe we mostly have two-pronged plugs (the earth is hidden inside), but on the other side of the pond you have 3-pronged plugs. This plug converter will be included in most voltage converters meant for people who travel often between continents, so again, the airport or a train station store.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 4105
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Biiig Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby fh991586 » Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:45 pm

Flying a 30yo 5 octaves kb is asking for trouble if you're not sure it's sold already. All that for a Polysix? Beware not to have to bring it back...
Considering parting away from:
-Roland TR707
-Yamaha DX7
-DSI Mopho

Gear for Sale: Roland M-SE 1, M-OC 1, M-BD 1
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Roland Juno 106, JX3P, D50, U220, MVS1, JP8080.
Korg Kaossilator, Monotrons, MicroKorg, M3R.
Yamaha Motif Rack.

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby Bitexion » Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:04 pm

Yeah, keep in mind that the box will have to go in the cargo space of the plane, and the loaders don't have time to be careful with packages, they just throw stuff in there and sort it by weight inside. Same thing on the receiving end, unloading can be harsh for heavy packages.

I'd rather try selling it in Canada.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 4105
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Biiig Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby Claud123 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:56 am

yeah unloading can be harsh in these circumstances. You are right.
Claud123
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:06 am
Location: Port Bolivar, Texas

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby Crystal20 » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:46 am

the box will have to go in the cargo space of the plane, and the loaders don't have time to be careful with packages, they just throw stuff in there and sort it by weight inside. Same thing on the receiving end, unloading can be harsh for heavy packages.
Crystal20
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Korg Polysix : American to European voltage

Postby pflosi » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:38 pm

Bitexion wrote:Yeah, but there are readily available voltage converters in any store that sells electronics. Usually on airports aswell.
And they're cheap. Some synths have a powersupply that can switch between 120 and 230v with a little red switch on the back.


No, proper power transformers are not cheap and usually not avilable on airports etc. Only the adapters that will work for switching power supplies (that can take anything from 100-240V). The Polysix has a linear PSU and you actually need to convert to 230V. Could be that the PSU has a pin to tap for 240V, but that requires modification.

Do not plug a 110V Polysix straight into 230V sockets with just an adapter!
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...


Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests