Analog sampler?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:47 am

It contributes too, but the caps in the BBD chain decay your signal really quickly. Try it!
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9087
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Advertisement:

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby pflosi » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:58 am

Foolin all day with BBD delays :thumbright: None able to turn off the filter though :|
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3095
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby cornutt » Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:50 pm

pflosi wrote:Isn't the "dark tone" mainly the filter filtering out the clock noise?


Partly, but it's also there to cut down on noise buildup. BBD delays are inherently noisy.

A lot of BBD devices don't run at full audio bandwidth, in order to provide a longer delay time. In order to do that, they have to pre-filter to prevent aliasing, in addition to the clock filtering on output. That's another possible source.
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!
User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Location: Rocket City USA
Gear: 6th

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:50 am

pflosi wrote:Foolin all day with BBD delays :thumbright: None able to turn off the filter though :|


A 188-1 :thumbright:
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9087
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Bitexion » Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:57 am

My modular system has a "comb filter" that is basically lots of BBD delays in serial..it sounds SERIOUSLY nuts with some resonance applied, you totally lose any notion of the original sound.
User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Drammen, Norway
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Yamaha Motif XF6
Roland Gaia
Alesis Ion
Analogue Systems modular
+various assorted bits&bobs

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby pflosi » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:30 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:
pflosi wrote:Foolin all day with BBD delays :thumbright: None able to turn off the filter though :|


A 188-1 :thumbright:


Man don't tempt me with that one... Believe me, I've thought about it for a long time... :? Too little rack space ATM...
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3095
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Hallu » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:50 am

Watch on youtube.com


Dreams don't happen without wherewithal
Hallu
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:37 pm

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Chronus » Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:18 pm

Stab,
You make a great point. The whole reason that digital samplers were invented is for precisely the reason you state, analog sucks. Now if we look at how suckiness has created some of the greatest music the world has ever known, then you see why everyone wants more analog. Dirt, grime, distortion, noise, all things that we just adore.

So with that said, I would like to say that all of the above examples of analog sampling have some use. The Melotron was the real thing though in terms of actually being a genuine usable analog sample playback device.

So if you want something to store an analog sound in high resolution, you are really going to have to go back to the drawing board and start all over trying to figure out the best medium to store waveforms on that is truly analog, or linear.

Tape sucks, vinyl sucks, BBDs sucks, but we love them all. What other ways can we store a voltage or a representation of a signal that can be converted back into audio? There are not that many ways to do this. Light is not something that we can use because it moves so fast that you can't slow it down. You can modulate light, but what does that do for you? What things move slowly that we can impress and image on, or mecahanically impress a signal onto it's surface, or magnetically impress a signal on it? You might use thermal printers to drop a waveform on a paper loop.
Chronus
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:59 pm

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Ashe37 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:33 pm

You use a series of transistors to store the analog value for each point in the waveform. Of course, to have any more duration, and to be capable of storing more than one sample, it would need to be the size of, at least, a refrigerator, if not a small room. And you'd probably need the refrigerator's cooling system to keep it from overheating
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby ninja6485 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:03 pm

Ashe37 wrote:You use a series of transistors to store the analog value for each point in the waveform. Of course, to have any more duration, and to be capable of storing more than one sample, it would need to be the size of, at least, a refrigerator, if not a small room. And you'd probably need the refrigerator's cooling system to keep it from overheating
So basically, if you want an analog sampler: buy a fridge. :D
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...
User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Exton/ westchester
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, esi4k,M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:43 am

Ashe37 wrote:You use a series of transistors to store the analog value for each point in the waveform. Of course, to have any more duration, and to be capable of storing more than one sample, it would need to be the size of, at least, a refrigerator, if not a small room. And you'd probably need the refrigerator's cooling system to keep it from overheating

A series of transistors which stores the analogue value for each point in the waveform is called RAM. What you're describing here is a digital sampler. :D
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9087
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Octatrack, Analog Four, Eurorack, Minibrute, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Analog sampler?

Postby Zamise » Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:24 pm

:idea: Put the transistors on a wheel or disc and spin it.
User avatar
Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2088
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:41 am
Location: DenverMetroUSA, Quantum-Source.com
Gear: P00
Band: Quantum-Source

Previous

Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests