Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby mingle » Mon May 02, 2011 4:03 am

Hi Guys,

I'm currently awaiting the arrival of my first ever rack/module - a nice Roland S-330... :-)

Up until now, I've only ever felt comfortable with keyboards - I used to have an S-50 and loved it!

I've read a bit about the excellent Director-S software and have heard rumblings about there being a version out there that doesn't require the original program dongle.

Does anyone know where I'd be able to locate a copy, as I reckon it'd be much better than using an outboard sequencer.

Cheers,

Mike.
mingle
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:42 am

Advertisement:

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Silverfish » Mon May 02, 2011 7:13 am

I've got a disk image. Check your inbox for a PM shortly. :D
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby mingle » Mon May 02, 2011 10:39 am

Tyler, you're a legend... Now all I need is an S-330 to use it on :lol:

Cheers,

Mike.
mingle
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby dimxl » Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:11 pm

Hello,

I am in similar situation - awaiting the arrival of Roland S-330.

I like to use onboar sequencer and I need to find copy of Director-S software that doesn't require the original program dongle.

Could anybody help me to find it?

Thanks in advance,

Dmitriy
dimxl
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:42 pm

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby D-Collector » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:26 am

dimxl wrote:I like to use onboar sequencer and I need to find copy of Director-S software that doesn't require the original program dongle.

Could anybody help me to find it?

Thanks in advance,

Dmitriy


No problemo friend.

I uploaded a RAR archive for you with everything you need, disk images, SDisk for windows, manuals:

http://www55.zippyshare.com/v/77936744/file.html

If you only need the (dongle-free) Director-S disk image, then use this link:

http://www31.zippyshare.com/v/41308364/file.html

:thumbright:
User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby dimxl » Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:45 pm

D-Collector, thanks for you great help!

Could you explain, is "Roland Utility Disk 1.03.OUT" system disk or not?

Also I see that you old link to "director-s" video does not work. I have not found any video or tutorial about this sequencer.

Dmitriy
dimxl
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:42 pm

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby D-Collector » Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:06 pm

You're welcome!

Yes, it is the system disk, and must be booted. Alternatively if you make a disk with your favorite sounds/patches the system can copy the OS onto that disk, so you can boot your favorite sound disk.

If you wish you can also boot with the sequencer disk, but if you want to use onboard sounds you must load in the utility disk afterwards. If you want to use the S-330 as sequencer only, then the Director-S disk will do.

No, unfortunately I no longer have those videos up, but there wasn't much help in them anyway.

Luckily the sequencer is very easy to use.
User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby nathanscribe » Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:20 pm

It's a long time since I used it, but I remember SDISK being pretty straightforward to use (I used it to write Roland library disks for my W-30, on a DOS computer). You'll need 720kB floppies, and you'll need to format them correctly, if the S-330 works the same as the W-30 in that respect.

Meanwhile: http://www.sgroup.ca
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Fatbenelton » Fri Jan 24, 2014 1:27 pm

The Roland Sampler Users Group is an old but valuable resource that is well worth browsing….clunky site but still maintained and active!

http://www.sgroup.ca

Also, I think there were several versions of Director-S - I seem to recall different samplers required different versions or something like that - i.e. Director S S330 edition or s550 edition etc
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Kawai SX210, Moog Source, SH101,Yamaha SY35, EMU Orbit 3, Korg M500, V-Synth XT, Yamaha EX5, Yamaha RS7000, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Fatbenelton » Fri Jan 24, 2014 1:50 pm

Just had a look and here are links to S-330 and S-550 versions of director-S

http://www.sgroup.ca/archive/os/
Jonny Jones
Fatbenelton
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Liverpool
Gear: Roland JX10, Kawai SX210, Moog Source, SH101,Yamaha SY35, EMU Orbit 3, Korg M500, V-Synth XT, Yamaha EX5, Yamaha RS7000, Logic X, Cubase 7.5

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby D-Collector » Fri Jan 24, 2014 2:38 pm

Yes, but those files hosted on sgroup require a dongle to be fully functional.
User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Silverfish » Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:02 am

Did anyone ever try my re-hacked S-550 Director-S disk image? I never did test it myself. I should still have it, if anyone is still interested. No guarantees that it actually works, though. :D
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Don Solaris » Tue May 13, 2014 11:29 pm

Silverfish wrote:Did anyone ever try my re-hacked S-550 Director-S disk image? I never did test it myself. I should still have it, if anyone is still interested. No guarantees that it actually works, though. :D

I'd like to try it. Just restored my S-550. It's finally working right.
User avatar
Don Solaris
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:30 pm
Gear: JP8 OB1 OB8 OBX SH2 SH3a SH5 P1 P5 MKS50 MKS70 MKS80 A6 VoyagerOS MS20 MonoPoly CS15 CS30 JU60 Omni2

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby Silverfish » Wed May 14, 2014 6:38 am

I'll see if I can track it down here...
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Director-S for the Roland S-330?

Postby bassmobile » Fri May 16, 2014 3:38 am

D-Collector wrote:
dimxl wrote:I like to use onboar sequencer and I need to find copy of Director-S software that doesn't require the original program dongle.

Could anybody help me to find it?

Thanks in advance,

Dmitriy


No problemo friend.

I uploaded a RAR archive for you with everything you need, disk images, SDisk for windows, manuals:

http://www55.zippyshare.com/v/77936744/file.html


If you only need the (dongle-free) Director-S disk image, then use this link:

http://www31.zippyshare.com/v/41308364/file.html

:thumbright:


:cry: The ZIPPYshare links are down? Any chance you could re-up these disks?!

Anyone else. Looking for the dongle free version of Director S for the S-330!

Thanks!
bassmobile
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 3:35 am

Next

Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests