Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby Blue Monster 65 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:01 pm

Does anyone use theirs for this? Do you need a computer connection to switch channels, etc.? I looked for info but so far haven't found that!

I have their analog factory and all channel switching has to be done via their set up software - it looks like this may be the same.
Last edited by Blue Monster 65 on Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Muhahahahahahahahaha!
User avatar
Blue Monster 65
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:19 am
Location: down in the lab ...

Re: Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby micahjonhughes » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:16 pm

I use it as my (polyphonic) midi controller. If you want to change the channel it sends on, you do need to connect it to a computer. By default it sends on Ch 1.
User avatar
micahjonhughes
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby Blue Monster 65 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:26 pm

Got it - thank you!
Muhahahahahahahahaha!
User avatar
Blue Monster 65
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:19 am
Location: down in the lab ...

Re: Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby jpark1115 » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:19 am

Hey micahjonhughes could you tell me how you set up your minibrute to use as a midi controller in ableton? I have one as well and I'm having trouble getting it to work...I know how to use it as an audio input and record with that but I cant figure out how to use the keys on the minibrute to create sounds from the instrument rack or impulses. Please tell me how, im dying to know!
jpark1115
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:13 am

Re: Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby Stab Frenzy » Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:58 am

jpark1115 wrote:Hey micahjonhughes could you tell me how you set up your minibrute to use as a midi controller in ableton? I have one as well and I'm having trouble getting it to work...I know how to use it as an audio input and record with that but I cant figure out how to use the keys on the minibrute to create sounds from the instrument rack or impulses. Please tell me how, im dying to know!

All the info you need is in the Live Lessons that come with the program. But basically you need to go to preferences and enable midi input from the Minibrute.
User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 9725
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: monster island*
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Arturia Minibrute as MIDI Controller Keyboard

Postby part12studios » Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:36 pm

Found this thread and in a similar situation wondering.. so the minibrute can transmit poly midi notes.. my testing so far confirms that i believe.. pitch and mod are likely to work.. but am i correct in assuming that the other various sliders / knobs don't transmit as CC. I would be surprised if it did.

My macbook pro is in the shop so i'm limping along testing things on an old win7 pc sifting through freeware/shareware.. i'm not using USB in my studio so I'm purely interested in what my minibrute can transmit over MIDI out.

I believe it doesn't transmit arpegiation. i recall that in the past, which is a shame but given it's ultimate purpose I guess is understandable..

I'm trying to streamline my studio and i have an Akai MPK25 which was my former controller. one of the big draws was that it had a built in arpeggiator, however I also have a MIDI Pal which is an arp and much more.. so my thinking was that if i could get the MIDI Pal to work with the Minibrute that would make the Akai somewhat obsolete and something i could do away with.

I'm ok if the Minibrute doesn't send CC's so long as it can in fact transmit poly midi notes (even though it's a mono instrument internally)

Thanks!
Caleb
part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests

cron