Kawai k1 local off?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Kawai k1 local off?

Postby nuketifromorbit » Wed Feb 12, 2014 6:42 pm

I've dug through the manual, dove through the various menus, and I'll be damned If I can find anyway to turn local off in order to prevent midi feedback from occurring when I used this thing with my sequencer as a master controller. Any advice?
We'll always be remembered, we'll always be dismembered.
User avatar
nuketifromorbit
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:07 am

Advertisement:

Re: Kawai k1 local off?

Postby rhino » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:59 pm

Found this:

forge wrote:
do you have any idea how to turn local off ?

Hmm... try Multi Edit, Group C / Window 3, Mode = MIDI. If you have the manual, it's on page 36.
"A thing may seem impossible...until it's done."
--Nelson Mandela
User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: kentucky hills
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Re: Kawai k1 local off?

Postby synthroom » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:05 pm

At the very bottom of Page 48 of the manual ( http://www.kawaius-tsd.com/OM/K_SYNTH/K1_Synth.pdf ), it seems to imply that it does not respond to LOCAL ON/OFF in the AUX section of it's MIDI implementation...

Can your sequencer change the MIDI channel of the incoming notes so that when it sends them back out, they are on a different channel than the K1 is on?

Set the K1 to separate Trans and Recieve channels?
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.
User avatar
synthroom
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: pdx
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.

Re: Kawai k1 local off?

Postby nuketifromorbit » Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:52 pm

rhino wrote:Found this:

forge wrote:
do you have any idea how to turn local off ?

Hmm... try Multi Edit, Group C / Window 3, Mode = MIDI. If you have the manual, it's on page 36.


Ah, I was thinking that mucking about in the multi-setup's was the key. What a pain, its so easy to find such settings even on synths everyone deems difficult to program (yamaha dx and sy series). Anyhow that did the trick, thanks guys.
We'll always be remembered, we'll always be dismembered.
User avatar
nuketifromorbit
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:07 am

Re: Kawai k1 local off?

Postby meatballfulton » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:11 am

synthroom wrote:At the very bottom of Page 48 of the manual it does not respond to LOCAL ON/OFF in the AUX section of it's MIDI implementation...


That refers to whether or not you can switch LOCAL state in response to a a received MIDI msg. That's completely different than turning it off manually using the UI.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3655
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Motif XF6, Evolver, Live 9


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests