Crumar Performer String Section not working

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby cprescott08 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:41 am

I just purchased a Crumar Performer that was supposed to be Fully Functional.
Unfortunately, that is not the case.

The String section is not producing any sound at the main output.

I do notice if a cable is plugged into the signal out that the string section crescendo and sustain sliders
are operational if that might help in the diagnosis.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!
cprescott08
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Wisconsin

Advertisement:

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby fh991586 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:03 am

Forgive me for asking such a stupid question, but is either 16' or 8' buttons pressed?
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby cprescott08 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:07 am

Yes. I've attempted all the different combinations available in the string section.
cprescott08
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby fh991586 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:47 am

Have you opened it to do a visual check, just in case there's something unplugged?
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby cprescott08 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:00 am

Yes. Been in the game for sometime now and know how to at the very least check over the BASICS.
Comes with the territory when dealing in vintage gear. I've acquired enough knowledge and experience over the years to expect some issues and perform minor diagnostics and repair. Do you have any experience with the Performer?
cprescott08
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby rhino » Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:40 pm

If the seller is trustworthy - that is, if the synth WAS fully working but failed in shipment/transport - Check again for cracked PC boards, loose connectors etc.

Looking at the schematic, two failures could kill the strings, but let other features work:

IC2 - a 1458 dual op-amp

IC5 - a 741 op-amp

Both are located on the P-559 board

Scope or audio trace the input and output pins and see if they're both passing signal

EDIT: Never had one so going souly off the schematic: Can you switch the BRASS signal into the delay and verify the analog delay is not dead?
"A thing may seem impossible...until it's done."
--Nelson Mandela
User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: kentucky hills
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby cprescott08 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:02 pm

Well, I fired it up today and now nothing is working. The lights come on but, no sound output at any of the output jacks. I'm also noticing that the modulation rate led is solid red and is no longer blinking in time with the rate slider.

To answer you question previously I believe the brass was passing thru the delay as the crescendo slider in the string section was effecting the brass sound. Not sure if that's what you were asking though?

At this point I will probably just return it for a refund. I've already been in contact with the seller stating
the issues and fortunately they are agreeable.

Any suggestions on the current issue?

Thanks!
cprescott08
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:00 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby rhino » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:54 pm

Well, the fact that ANOTHER problem has suddenly cropped up is another (to me) sign of something loose.
Had my shre of Ensoniqs that looked spotless inside, but had that damned grey "mold" on the connectors. Just the weight of the cable moving can make/break the contact.

While you have it open, check the power supply if you have not yet done so.
There are 6 outputs
+24, -24, +12, -12, +9.1 and +6.2

Even integrated regulators can go wonky over time.
"A thing may seem impossible...until it's done."
--Nelson Mandela
User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: kentucky hills
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo

Re: Crumar Performer String Section not working

Postby fh991586 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:30 pm

cprescott08 wrote:Yes. Been in the game for sometime now and know how to at the very least check over the BASICS.
Comes with the territory when dealing in vintage gear. I've acquired enough knowledge and experience over the years to expect some issues and perform minor diagnostics and repair.


I'm sorry, but I had no way to know your expertise on the subject! There's a lot of different types of members here...

Do you have any experience with the Performer?


I own one, and I've removed and cleaned every keys on it, while also fixing a almost broken key (viewtopic.php?f=5&t=62712). I'm afraid that's all I can be helpful about, so nothing considering your problems. Just trying to help... :|

Unless you really want that Performer, I'd deal with the seller to send it back for full refund.
-Roland JX3P+PG200, D50+PG1000, Juno 6+106, MKS50/70, JP8080, U220, MVS1, MDC1, MSE1, TR-707
-Korg Poly61M, M1R, MicroKorg, Micro X, Kaossilator/Pro, Monotron X3
-Yamaha DX7, TX816, TX81Z
-Future Retro 777, DSI Mopho, EMU Proteus FX
User avatar
fh991586
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:20 pm
Location: Montréal, Qc
Real name: Francis
Gear: Too much to handle...


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests