reduble an audio signal

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

reduble an audio signal

Postby dzcosimo » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:47 am

Hi

I want to obtain a thing that I thought be quite simple... But I can't find a commercial component that does this!
I want to redouble my audio signal (I play both bass and synths, hence one of these type of audio signals).

For example I want to take my synth output signal and double it. One of the outputs passes from other effects, finally arriving to the mixer, and the other one goes straigth to the mixer (the effect i want to create is like listening two synths that play the same phrasing).

Can anyone help me in finding a commercial component (pedal?) that does this?

Thank you in advance
CosimoDS
Feel free to correct my English at all times, I'd be grateful!
dzcosimo
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:25 pm

Advertisement:

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby pflosi » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:59 am

TS Y-cable :thumbright:
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3176
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby dzcosimo » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:24 pm

Thank you!

Does it work in any condition? I mean, It is a passive component, hence can I use it only before the amplifier or also after? And is the power of the signal halved or remains the same?

I couldn't find it, because I (foolishly) was sure that an active component was needed.
Feel free to correct my English at all times, I'd be grateful!
dzcosimo
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:25 pm

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby madtheory » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:44 pm

If the split is after the mic pre amp, the mic pre is the "active component" and the cable will not affect the sound in any way.
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 3364
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Fabreeze, Buck Owens Moog, Korg Warlock 9000, Roland Sultan of Brunei, Moog Ribald Cat.
Band: madtheory

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby pflosi » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:14 am

For splitting, it should work fine anyways. You get a small drop in amplitude, but you won't notice that.

DO NOT use it for mixing signals together!
User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3176
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: zürich
Gear: more than 150 characters...

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby Cumulus » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:18 am

Some pedals have a dry output as well. That might work for you as well.
User avatar
Cumulus
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:48 pm
Band: Cumulus

Re: reduble an audio signal

Postby Solderman » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:02 pm

If your instrument is at line-level, why would you not just use an effects send configuration on your mixer for this? The Aux return acts as the second signal.

"Lots of people are nostalgic for analogue. I suspect they're people who never had to work with it." - Brian Eno
User avatar
Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 1761
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:43 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Real name: Zane W
Gear: μbrute, Kraftzwerg I, Поливокс(mod), SEM Pro, SH101(mod), TR606(mod), TB303, α Juno, Virus b


Return to Sound Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest