ENSONIQ ASR-10 SCSI HELP

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

ENSONIQ ASR-10 SCSI HELP

Postby 2manydrummachines » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:24 am

Hello Vintage Synth users,

I have an ASR-10 w/SCSI and I have external drives I want to use with it. Here is the setup please tell me what I am doing wrong:

ASR -10
SCSI 250mb Zip Drive (zip drive can only be physically set to SCSI 5 or SCSI 6)
SCSI Hard Drive 1 set to SCSI 7 on ASR-10
SCSI Hard Drive 2 set to SCSI 8 on ASR-10

When I boot from Zip and then "change SCSI device" on ASR-10 and select SCSI 7 I receive a message on ASR-10 "not connected SCSI device" or "SCSI device not connected" the same applies for the 3rd drive.
Because of the cables I have and the OS on the hard drives I have to use the Zip drive as the boot drive.

Do I have to connect each of the SCSI HDs individually and change their internal SCSI ID number and if I do, how do I go about doing this?
2manydrummachines
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 5:23 pm

Advertisement:

Re: ENSONIQ ASR-10 SCSI HELP

Postby Ashe37 » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:23 am

isn't the SCSI controller itself usually on ID 7? what SCSI system is it using? IIRC Fast SCSI only recognizes ID 0-7, and the controller is almost always, technically, occupying ID 7.
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2610
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V

Re: ENSONIQ ASR-10 SCSI HELP

Postby 2manydrummachines » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:47 am

Well there is not a controller for SCSI that I am aware of, in the manual the load device can be any from SCSI 0 thru SCSI 7. There is another manual that has to do with SCSI specifically. I found it here:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... 5504,d.cWc

It states that you cannot have anything on 3. Let me look at it a little more and I will get back on here with the correct answer, a lot of my gear is acting weird.
2manydrummachines
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 5:23 pm

Re: ENSONIQ ASR-10 SCSI HELP

Postby Ashe37 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:26 am

'nothing can be on 3' means that the controller is on 3. The sampler has a controller and a microprocessor- essentially, a computer, albiet a special purpose one. The ASR-10 only uses Fast SCSI, so it can only use SCSI IDs 0 through 7, any ID higher than that can make the chain act odd.

Also, make sure termination is OFF on the second to last device externally, and ON on the last device in the chain.

And people wonder why i'm glad to not have to deal with SCSI anymore.
Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2610
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, Bass Station II
Band: Eridani V


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests