Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.

Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby meatballfulton » Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:35 pm

SonicState video

Watch on youtube.com
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3623
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Motif XF6, Evolver, Live 9

Advertisement:

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby Z » Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:09 pm

YAY! I was disappointed that the VT-3 didn't have a way to "play" the vocoder's built-in carrier wave and NOW YOU CAN!

Looks like I'll be updating my TR-8 & VT-3 tonight.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby griffin avid » Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:56 pm

Nice! But I was hoping for more drum kits and sounds...like totally blow that engine open.
Those are some awesome updates tho -.

I want to play with the system 1 but I'm scared that I might buy it.
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com
User avatar
griffin avid
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby FX23 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:13 pm

Updated tb3. Now we can selected user soun
ds u1 to u


5. But they make no sound??
FX23
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 4:33 pm

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby StepLogik » Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:00 pm

Is there a list of updates anywhere? I don't want to sit through that video lol
User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1478
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Location: Boston, MA
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby griffin avid » Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:15 pm

http://www.rolandus.com/go/aira/

Bottom left under Aira updates, lol
Music Product: Better Sounds for Beats http://www.StudioAVX.com
Music Production: Resources and Research http://www.ProducersEdgeMagazine.com
Music Produced: Abstract Hip Hop Sci-Fi: http://www.TheDynamicUniverse.com
User avatar
griffin avid
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:08 am
Location: New York

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby StepLogik » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:45 am

I don't see anything but the download zips. I must be goddamn blind. Google has captured anything yet either.

Got a direct link?
User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1478
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Location: Boston, MA
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby StepLogik » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:48 am

Microsoft bing to the rescue. Flat list with no stupid aira website design:

http://createdigitalmusic.com/2014/07/r ... p-restore/

Still no pattern change via midi :(
User avatar
StepLogik
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1478
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:16 am
Location: Boston, MA
Gear: Gauntlets of Ogre Power, Vorpal Sword, Chain Mail +3, Ring of Invisibility, Staff of the Magi, Boots of Speed

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby Z » Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:38 am

OK, now where are the instructions on how to use the updates once you've installed them?
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby garranimal » Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:25 am

The installations comes w/ readme files.

The SH-101 plugout: Alright now....a standalone app would have been nice. I'm currently looking for a free trial daw for loading the dread VST3 file.
User avatar
garranimal
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Band: G-Strom Electro

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby Z » Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:24 am

All that was included with the TR-8 & VT-3 update ZIP files was the .BIN files that you move over to each device and a PDF with instructions on how to perform the update.

There were no instructions on how to utilize the new features. Plus, the original Aira manuals that came with the machines (also downloadable from RolandUS.com) are very incomplete.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby garranimal » Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:12 am

Z wrote:All that was included with the TR-8 & VT-3 update ZIP files was the .BIN files that you move over to each device and a PDF with instructions on how to perform the update.

There were no instructions on how to utilize the new features. Plus, the original Aira manuals that came with the machines (also downloadable from RolandUS.com) are very incomplete.

Ah, a readme came with the system-1. I haven't done the tr-8 update yet.

Just got the SH-101 plug loaded and it sounds really good. I haven't played a real one extensively so can't compare. But the plug sounds really good.
User avatar
garranimal
Expert Member
Expert Member
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
Band: G-Strom Electro

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby machineomega » Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:12 pm

Z wrote:All that was included with the TR-8 & VT-3 update ZIP files was the .BIN files that you move over to each device and a PDF with instructions on how to perform the update.

There were no instructions on how to utilize the new features. Plus, the original Aira manuals that came with the machines (also downloadable from RolandUS.com) are very incomplete.


Yeah I am feeling the same irritation here. It's long been a running joke to me that Roland makes the *worst* instruction manuals. The TR-8 "manual" was the ultimate punchline to that. I upgraded my TR-8 and there is basically nothing about how you can do any of the stuff that was mentioned on CDM blog. Thus far, all I have found are these two youtube videos showing how you can change the gain on individual instruments in kits and how to make the scatter effect on button into a momentary type switch -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rISrZpyPBVs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BerkzgEOks0

And of course, we didn't any new kits like many of us hoped :?

*EDIT disclaimer, I didn't want to sit through the sonicstate video either, so if this stuff is in there...my bad :D -- I kind of feel like Roland should give us something directly in printed form rather than this. Maybe that is being needlessly pedantic on my part, but come on how hard would it be :ugeek:

**EDIT #2, I think they got the hint this afternoon, the AIRA page is updated and this document is now available - http://lib.roland.co.jp/support/en/downloads/res/63185234/tr8_v110en.pdf
User avatar
machineomega
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 9:41 pm
Location: Central Ohio
Band: Soul of the Machine

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby Z » Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:40 pm

OK, so I've now got the supplemental file for the VT-3: http://www.roland.com/support/article/? ... d=63185235

Which states:
"4. MIDI implementation via USB MIDI
Receiving MIDI channel is OMNI, Transmitting MIDI channel is 3.
Note
Pitch correction for AUTO PITCH 1/2/Megaphone/Radio/Scatter
Pitch correction for synth note of VOCODER/SYNTH/LEAD/BASS"

The VT-3 has the square-ish USB port, but all the MIDI to USB cables I am finding have the rectangular plug that goes into your computer.

Where do I find the cable that the Roland product specialist was using in the video to connect the System 1 to the VT-3 and control the VT-3's pitch via MIDI?
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear
User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: Roland AIRA Upgrade/SH-101 Plugout Release

Postby JayEm » Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:12 am

Z wrote:OK, so I've now got the supplemental file for the VT-3: http://www.roland.com/support/article/? ... d=63185235

Which states:
"4. MIDI implementation via USB MIDI
Receiving MIDI channel is OMNI, Transmitting MIDI channel is 3.
Note
Pitch correction for AUTO PITCH 1/2/Megaphone/Radio/Scatter
Pitch correction for synth note of VOCODER/SYNTH/LEAD/BASS"

The VT-3 has the square-ish USB port, but all the MIDI to USB cables I am finding have the rectangular plug that goes into your computer.

Where do I find the cable that the Roland product specialist was using in the video to connect the System 1 to the VT-3 and control the VT-3's pitch via MIDI?

he must've been routing through logic.
w00t
User avatar
JayEm
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:41 am
Location: London, ON
Real name: Jonathan
Gear: Korg Poly 800 Monotron MFB 522 Tapco Mix 100 Novation Nio 24 Remote 25SL FLStudio Behringer FEX800 Yamaha CS-15D
Band: datapark / KNUCKLEFACE / JayEm

Next

Return to General Synthesizers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 9 guests