Roland MKS-10 Planet-P

Roland MKS-10 Planet-P Image

The MKS-10 Planet-P is a 16-voice polyphonic piano sound module with MIDI, released in 1984 by Roland. It has just eight preset sounds: two Piano sounds, two Clavi sounds, two Harpsichord sounds, and two Electric Piano sounds. The sounds can be freely combined and stored in any one of the 128 memory patches.

Sounds can be tweaked, but only slightly. There is a Brilliance control to adjust the brightness of the sound, and short and long release time settings. Chorus, Flanging and two different Tremolo effects are also provided. The effects can be adjusted using the Rate and Depth controls. All effects, filter and envelope settings are also stored into patch memory. There are also master Tune and Volume controls on the front panel. The MKS-10 can respond to MIDI velocity as well as MIDI control change messages for expressive playing and realtime tweaking via your MIDI keyboard controller or sequencer.

The MKS-10 is an analog instrument, however for a Piano sound module, its sounds really are not that great nor realistic. Although it supported 16 MIDI channels, it is monotimbral and can only actually play sounds on one channel at a time. The MKS-10 was replaced by the MKS-20, a digital Piano sound module based off the Roland RD-1000.

Lookup Roland MKS-10 Planet-P Prices

The link above will take you to an eBay search for this synth to see active listings with more images, specs and information. If you don't find it there, try looking in our forum marketplace. Our marketplace gets thousands of visits every week so make sure to check back often if you want to buy or sell a synth.

Related Forum Topics

User Comments & Reviews

Are you looking to buy or sell a Roland MKS-10 Planet-P? Post an ad in Gear For Sale or a request in Gear Wanted. For spare parts and repair services check out Gear Services & Other Goods. Our forums also has a Buyer’s Guide section where you can ask for advice on buying synthesizers.

comments powered by Disqus
VSE Rating

Don’t bother

User Rating

Rated 2.69 (127 Votes)

  • Check Price
  • The link above will take you to an eBay search for this synth to see active listings. If you don't find it there, try looking in our forum marketplace or post a wanted classified.
  • Demos & Media
  • Manual - Roland has made manuals for most of their products available as free PDF downloads.

  • Specifications
  • Polyphony - 16 voices
  • Multitimbral - Monotimbral
  • Oscillators - DCO
  • Modulation - Square or Sine Tremolo with rate & depth controls
  • Filter - Brilliance
  • Envelope - Long or Short release times
  • Effects - Chorus, Flanger
  • Arpeg/Seq - None
  • Keyboard - None
  • Memory - 128 patches
  • Control - MIDI In/Out
  • Date Produced - 1984
  • Resources & Credits
  • Original images from Jean-Jacques Cyrus.

    Reviewed January 2011.

Errors or Corrections? Send them here.