Siel Orchestra

Siel Orchestra Image

The Orchestra is a 4-part orchestral synthesizer from the classic Italian synth company, Siel (later bought by ARP and relabeled the Quartet). The Orchestra has 4 presets: Brass, Strings, Organ and Piano. The 4 tone color families can be played individually or two can be simultaneously played. They are also individually tweakable. Selected presets will light up LEDs to show you which sliders and buttons can be used to modify the sounds. The synth itself is very limited, there's no external control, no pitch/mod wheel and few edit parameters. However it sounds very good and it is, after all, a classic analog synth.

The Brass section creates Trumpet and Trombone sounds with independent attack and sustain controls. The String section creates Cello and Violin sounds with independent attack and sustain controls. The Organ section is 2-voice and has a Celeste sound available as well. The Piano section offers two types, traditional or Hony Tonk. The ARP Quartet, which is completely identical to the Orchestra has been used by 808 State and Massive Attack for some of its great string sounds.

Siel Orchestra Image

The Orchestra 2 was a more flexible version that followed the original and was released in 1983. It still had 4 preset sounds but offered many more sliders and edit parameters. The Brass section received a better filter with cutoff and resonance sliders. The Strings section added Mute and Percussion sounds to the mix. The Reed or organ section offered an Accordion and Musette sound in addition to the traditional church organ sound. And the Piano section added a clavichord sound to its mix. Other sections include a 5-band graphic EQ, simple LFO, Octave Transposition and the Animator section, a flange-type effect for "animating' your sounds!

Lookup Siel Orchestra Prices

The link above will take you to an eBay search for this synth to see active listings with more images, specs and information. If you don't find it there, try looking in our forum marketplace. Our marketplace gets thousands of visits every week so make sure to check back often if you want to buy or sell a synth.

Related forum topics


Are you looking to buy or sell a Siel Orchestra? Post an ad in Gear For Sale or a request in Gear Wanted. For spare parts and repair services check out Gear Services & Other Goods. Our forums also has a Buyer’s Guide section where you can ask for advice on buying synthesizers.

21 Visitor comments
Jason Basson
November 27, 2013 @ 3:52 pm
The real truth about the Orchestra is that it's really awesome! It has the extra feature of 'percussion'effect(perc) which my other string synths doesn't have!Wonderful sound with the strings and the perc-effect on!!! If you see one buy it immediately! Greetz Jason
July 11, 2013 @ 5:33 pm
bought it a week ago...
since i bought it, cant stop playing with it. though it has only 4 sounds, its endless fun; every knob you tweak is pure magic.
at the same time - quite usable. (i'm into electronic rock music.)
June 3, 2013 @ 12:41 am
I'm trying to find out the dimensions of a Siel orchestra.
i live overseas but ive bought one for cheap and im going home to pick it up next week.
Having trouble finding a suitable hardcase to bring it back in though as i dont know the size. its much cheaper to buy one here (in China) than back home....
Cant seem to find the dimensions or weight ANYWHERE
Not in the manual either.
If anyone can help me out i'd greatly appreciate it.
May 21, 2013 @ 8:52 pm
hey jao B - im interested. if anyone is parting with one of these get in touch. in uk.
synth uk
April 24, 2013 @ 8:30 am
is this for sale in the uk? if so yes, whats your email?
VSE Rating


User Rating

Rated 3.71 (205 Votes)

  • Check Price
  • The link above will take you to an eBay search for this synth to see active listings. If you don't find it there, try looking in our forum marketplace or post a wanted classified.
  • Specifications
  • Polyphony - 49 notes
  • Oscillators - Brass, Strings, Organ and Piano
  • LFO - Fixed waveform, speed, depth, delay sliders
  • Filter - Yes: Brilliance (Orch 1). Freq. Cutoff and Resonance (Orch. 2)
  • Effects - Animator flange effect (Orch 2)
  • VCA - Yes, individual attack and decay sliders for strings, brass and piano sections.
  • Keyboard - 49 keys
  • Memory - None
  • Control - None
  • Date Produced - 1979-1982 (Orch 1); 1983-1986 (Orch 2)

Errors or Corrections? Send them here.